texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Pattatat, TonySum, Zoid65, Blackwater Red, Cyber Guy
68265 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 106,605
bill oxner 81,554
stxranchman 57,307
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
Gravytrain 42,109
BMD 41,172
Big Orn 37,484
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics600,662
Posts11,267,594
Members83,265
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? #6626171 01/10/17 08:43 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
Stripermania Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
Sitting in a blind waiting for hogs to show up at the feeder can be tiresome so I rely on motion sensors to tell me when the hogs are at the feeder while I sleep or surf the web. I have used several models and really have not find one to work reliably at 120 yards w/o trees (crow’s flight) so I would like to know what you have used and how you rate them. Here are the ones I used:

Driveway Patrol - $15 – Rated for 133 yards but it doesn’t work for me at 120 yards. Works great at 60 yards so if this the distance you hunt, it one is the best for the price.

Household Alert - $35 – Rated for 266 yards but it doesn’t work reliably for me at 120 yards

Guardline - $99 – Rated for 166 yards but it doesn’t work reliably for me at 120 yards

Miltronics Hunters Alert - $249 with 2 transmitters – most disappointing for the high price. Rated for 333 yards but it is not working reliably for me at 120 yards

Chamberlain CWA2000 - $60 – 880 yards – I have not used this one yet. Wonder how good it is.

What do you use and what would you recommend?

Thanks,

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6626212 01/10/17 09:10 PM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 3,342
CharlieCTx Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 3,342
After your post on what you used, I went and looked them up and found this site.

http://www.gadgetshack.com/wireless-driveway-alarms/

What I focused on was the detection range of the detector itself. The range to the receiver seemed to be way longer than needed (for me 150yds).

Lowest seems to be 30ft via the Chamberlain (what I use) and a few others on here have used. The highest was 50ft. I never did find a spec for the Miltronics one you have.

I think what's telling is the detection field as stated is like 40' on one one of them. Depending on where you have it, that's not that big of space given the size of the average hog hunting arena. (30-50ft distance with a 40' view)

Per the other post, I think you're missing more than you know by relying on those so much, I know I was. You need something to scan with.

Click this --> Leupold scope

Charlie

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6626229 01/10/17 09:22 PM
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 147
D
diablodog Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
D
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 147
I have used the 1/4 mile Guardline for over a year at 300 yards in a non-line of sight with no problems . I have taken a lot of hogs with it .The adjustable volume and different tones are a big help . I had Chamberlains but could not hear the alert sound and both corroded inside to be beyond use after a year , in dry west Tx.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6626335 01/10/17 10:35 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
Stripermania Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 56
CharlieCTx - Miltronics website is not easy to navigate to find stuff. Here is the link:

https://drivewayalert.com/system/hunters-alert%C2%AE-system

diablodog - where to you position your sensor? How high off the ground and how far from the expected animal standing?

Thanks

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6627187 01/11/17 02:23 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 369
N
Night Hunting TV Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
N
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 369
I went this route for a period of time. I found that most of the time the pigs didn't come that night as expected. Whether it was from checking my camera to pinpoint when to be in the stand or whatever. I have switched to cell cameras. Now I dont disturb the area. And if I get a txt I generally drive out and shoot them. Saved a lot of time sitting in a stand in the dark doing nothing, and gas wasted from not seeing anything. The time saving keeps the wife at bay and allots me to go hunting when I want. I actually think it lets me out of the house more. BC she gets tired "of the pigs txting me"...


Thermal & Night Vision Videos
Hog & Predator control
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/NightHuntingTv/
Youtube Channel - http://www.youtube.com/c/NightHuntingTV
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6627199 01/11/17 02:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,957
Tbar Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 12,957
I have used the Chamberlin for a couple of years now and it works great. Distance is 750 feet from the house.

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/6609261/Re:_First_Hunt_With_The_Therma#Post6609261


Make America Great Again

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6627784 01/11/17 09:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
H
HornSlayer Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
H
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
I use the harbor freight driveway alarm. Max distance is about 80 yards. The beeper is way to loud. But for $12 its hard to beat. I am going to try and hack a telescoping antenna to mine to see if the distance is improved. That is if radio shack has one. I need 120 yards reliable effective range. Looks like it will be easy.

Last edited by HornSlayer; 01/11/17 09:38 PM.

They make ammo specifically for hunting for a reason! nidea
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Night Hunting TV] #6627794 01/11/17 09:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
B
baconluvr Offline
Light Foot
Offline
Light Foot
B
Joined: Jan 2017
Posts: 25
Originally Posted By: bornforit
I went this route for a period of time. I found that most of the time the pigs didn't come that night as expected. Whether it was from checking my camera to pinpoint when to be in the stand or whatever. I have switched to cell cameras. Now I dont disturb the area. And if I get a txt I generally drive out and shoot them. Saved a lot of time sitting in a stand in the dark doing nothing, and gas wasted from not seeing anything. The time saving keeps the wife at bay and allots me to go hunting when I want. I actually think it lets me out of the house more. BC she gets tired "of the pigs txting me"...


Do you have any suggestions for both a make/model cell cam and your cell provider? I can use either Verizon or AT&T, but if there is a particular brand that doesn't play nice with CDMA or GSM I'd like to know that in advance. Thanks for your input.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6628225 01/12/17 02:26 AM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 163
A
a74aggie Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
A
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 163
Great idea. This is exactly what I need. I will give one a try, then move it to my driveway !!!!


�The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.� Edmund Burke

I refuse to have a battle of wits with an unarmed person
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6628301 01/12/17 03:01 AM
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 893
glocker17 Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 893
Quote:
Do you have any suggestions for both a make/model cell cam and your cell provider? I can use either Verizon or AT&T, but if there is a particular brand that doesn't play nice with CDMA or GSM I'd like to know that in advance. Thanks for your input.


I use a Covert Code Black AT&T for that same purpose, works great.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6628523 01/12/17 04:55 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
H
HornSlayer Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
H
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
Tonight I added an antenna to my harbor freight DRIVEWAY PATROL prim transmitter. Before I made the change I tested it and was getting reliable triggers out to 120 yards. I added a switch to turn the unit on and off and added a cheap radio shack rf antenna. Afterward I again tested the unit and was able to get a reliable trigger out to 200 yards which was a far as I could get and still see the red led light up on the receiver.


Last edited by HornSlayer; 01/12/17 04:56 AM.

They make ammo specifically for hunting for a reason! nidea
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6630589 01/13/17 03:27 PM
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 120
D
D-Box Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
D
Joined: Sep 2015
Posts: 120
I use a Chamberlain motion sensor and have been pretty happy with it. On 26 acres, it transmits from the feeder through thick trees and brush to my RV about 500' away with no problem. The only issue I have had is that the 2nd set of batteries corroded after a month or so. The sensor has led to several kills when the hogs show up during the day. Of course sometimes it's a deer.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6632369 01/14/17 08:48 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 661
B
Beckett Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
B
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 661
HCO makes good cellular cameras also. Ive used them for 5 yrs with no problems.


NRA LIFE MEMBER
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6633071 01/15/17 04:37 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,938
nak Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,938
After fooling with several different "cheap" attempts at motion detectors for pigs, I bought a pair of Dakota Alert MURS motion sensors and a compatible walkie talkie. WOW. It made me regret fooling with the cheaper rigs. I have one on a feeder near the river, which is almost a 1/2 mile, from my cabin, through the woods. The second is on a feeder about 165 years from the cabin. It has no problem covering the 1/2 mile between the two units. I get about 3 months on a set of 6 AA batteries. The each have a unique number, so you can tell which one is going off. Since they each have a programmable guard tone, I can set the walkie talkie to only respond to one, or both.

With a little tweaking, they can be adjusted so they are pretty much immune to raccoons, but reliably trigger on pigs. (If I could just get them to ignore deer )



NRA Lifer / Member TSRA
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: nak] #6655158 01/31/17 02:38 AM
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,067
M
mattyg06 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
M
Joined: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,067
Originally Posted By: nak
After fooling with several different "cheap" attempts at motion detectors for pigs, I bought a pair of Dakota Alert MURS motion sensors and a compatible walkie talkie. WOW. It made me regret fooling with the cheaper rigs. I have one on a feeder near the river, which is almost a 1/2 mile, from my cabin, through the woods. The second is on a feeder about 165 years from the cabin. It has no problem covering the 1/2 mile between the two units. I get about 3 months on a set of 6 AA batteries. The each have a unique number, so you can tell which one is going off. Since they each have a programmable guard tone, I can set the walkie talkie to only respond to one, or both.

With a little tweaking, they can be adjusted so they are pretty much immune to raccoons, but reliably trigger on pigs. (If I could just get them to ignore deer )




That's what we used as well. They work extremely well. We had 2 feeders set up to 'hunt' from the house. One 250 yds across a draw and the other 150 yards in the opposite direction in thicker oaks. We had no problem get signal inside of the house from either unit.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6655233 01/31/17 03:18 AM
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 3,342
CharlieCTx Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Joined: May 2013
Posts: 3,342
What's the range of the detector itself?


Kel-Tec RFB + Griffin Sportsman Ultra Light 300 + Pulsar Apex XQ-50
M&P-10 + AAC Cyclone
Remy 700 + Leupold VX3 3.5x10x50 CDS
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6655475 01/31/17 12:29 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 408
M
Mike Mathena Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
M
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 408
Depends on the detector, I'd say around 30 feetfor mine, its a cheapie though.


Go get in the woods
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #6656774 02/01/17 05:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
H
HornSlayer Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
H
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,692
If i get my barrel back tomorrow, I'm planning on going out Friday night and test my DYI detector. Was rained out the last time.


They make ammo specifically for hunting for a reason! nidea
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Stripermania] #8212838 03/24/21 01:17 PM
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 1
G
Garry Lekter Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
G
Joined: Feb 2021
Posts: 1
Guys, I'm new to hunting and I want to buy everything that I will need. I've already bought almost everything but I don't know if I should buy a walkie-talkie? My friend advises me to buy a walkie-talkie because in his opinion it is really a necessary thing during any hunt. He also advised me to learn codes for walkie-talkies https://www.walkie-talkie-guide.com/codes-for-walkie-talkies/. I do not want to spend extra money on things that I do not need, so I would appreciate it if you share your opinion and experience with my question.

Last edited by Garry Lekter; 03/24/21 01:19 PM.
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: baconluvr] #8212978 03/24/21 03:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
S
sus scrofa reduction specialist Offline
Green Horn
Offline
Green Horn
S
Joined: Mar 2021
Posts: 1
Look at BigFoot Game Camera. They use AT&T and have a really reasonable data plan. I've got 6 and they work flawlessly for over 3 years now. Get the 4G.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Garry Lekter] #8212980 03/24/21 03:03 PM
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 21,265
D
dkershen Online Content
Rev Dave
Online Content
Rev Dave
D
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 21,265
Originally Posted by Garry Lekter
Guys, I'm new to hunting and I want to buy everything that I will need. I've already bought almost everything but I don't know if I should buy a walkie-talkie? My friend advises me to buy a walkie-talkie because in his opinion it is really a necessary thing during any hunt. He also advised me to learn codes for walkie-talkies https://www.walkie-talkie-guide.com/codes-for-walkie-talkies/. I do not want to spend extra money on things that I do not need, so I would appreciate it if you share your opinion and experience with my question.

Bizarre question. Radios are a thing of the past. Easier to simply text your hunting partners. Would only bring a set of radios if there was no cell service in an area. And there is zero need for "coded" talk.


To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first and call whatever you hit the target.

www.NewHopeEquine.com - Health and Healing through Horses.
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: dkershen] #8213004 03/24/21 03:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 23,170
T
TXHOGSLAYER Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
T
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 23,170
Originally Posted by dkershen
Originally Posted by Garry Lekter
Guys, I'm new to hunting and I want to buy everything that I will need. I've already bought almost everything but I don't know if I should buy a walkie-talkie? My friend advises me to buy a walkie-talkie because in his opinion it is really a necessary thing during any hunt. He also advised me to learn codes for walkie-talkies https://www.walkie-talkie-guide.com/codes-for-walkie-talkies/. I do not want to spend extra money on things that I do not need, so I would appreciate it if you share your opinion and experience with my question.

Bizarre question. Radios are a thing of the past. Easier to simply text your hunting partners. Would only bring a set of radios if there was no cell service in an area. And there is zero need for "coded" talk.


this


Originally Posted by MikeC
Never underestimate a meth head!


Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: Garry Lekter] #8213056 03/24/21 03:58 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,940
D
der Teufel Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
D
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,940
Originally Posted by Garry Lekter
Guys, I'm new to hunting and I want to buy everything that I will need. I've already bought almost everything but I don't know if I should buy a walkie-talkie? My friend advises me to buy a walkie-talkie because in his opinion it is really a necessary thing during any hunt. He also advised me to learn codes for walkie-talkies https://www.walkie-talkie-guide.com/codes-for-walkie-talkies/. I do not want to spend extra money on things that I do not need, so I would appreciate it if you share your opinion and experience with my question.


Interesting…
I have some "walkie-talkies" (FRS/GMRS radios) although my hunting buddy and I seldom use them anymore. They have come in handy when we've needed to split up on occasions where we suspected hogs were in a brushy/wooded area and wanted to approach from two directions, or drive them in a certain direction. Being able to talk helps prevent us from shooting in each others' direction.

With thermal weapon sights, most of our hunting is now done at night and we typically don't separate.


You can never have too much ammo � unless you're swimming.
Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: nak] #8213067 03/24/21 04:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,356
Sniper John Online Happy
gumshoe
Online Happy
gumshoe
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 18,356
Originally Posted by nak
After fooling with several different "cheap" attempts at motion detectors for pigs, I bought a pair of Dakota Alert MURS motion sensors and a compatible walkie talkie. WOW. It made me regret fooling with the cheaper rigs. I have one on a feeder near the river, which is almost a 1/2 mile, from my cabin, through the woods. The second is on a feeder about 165 years from the cabin. It has no problem covering the 1/2 mile between the two units. I get about 3 months on a set of 6 AA batteries. The each have a unique number, so you can tell which one is going off. Since they each have a programmable guard tone, I can set the walkie talkie to only respond to one, or both.

With a little tweaking, they can be adjusted so they are pretty much immune to raccoons, but reliably trigger on pigs. (If I could just get them to ignore deer )

[Linked Image]



The MURS Alert Transmitters are what I use as well. Started with the chamberlain driveway alarms, but the range on the chamberlain was always on the edge of being enough and I was always having to replace them due to not taking wet weather well. You get what you pay for. Then I went with the Murs and a handheld. From camp I can get alerts from stands that are at least a mile away in opposite directions. Note camp is on a high spot of the lease. The alert is a woman's voice. "Alert Zone One" or zone two and so on. My east texas hog hunting place I took my feeder lights down, have black out blinds on my windows, use night vision now, and rely solely on the murs sensors to alert or wake me. I made up hangers or screws in threes to hang the sensors on at each feeder so I don't leave the sensors out in the weather year round. I can bring them in if I am going to be away from the lease for very long. Or use them for monitor other things like on a carcass, trails, temporary hand baited areas, etc. while I am hunting. Note even adjusting the sensitivity and height, you can still get some false alerts from large coons. A couple weeks ago I shot a fox that was big enough to set off a sensor on a pig pipe. Same trip at my east texas hog hunting place, I had a large coon constantly climbing up on a stump in front of my murs sensor that was wearing me out setting off the alert and waking me up every time it got to the top of the stump.

Re: Do you use "Motion Sensors" for Hog hunting? [Re: HornSlayer] #8216210 03/27/21 02:57 AM
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 13
J
J Hills Offline
Light Foot
Offline
Light Foot
J
Joined: May 2016
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by HornSlayer
I use the harbor freight driveway alarm. Max distance is about 80 yards. The beeper is way to loud. But for $12 its hard to beat. I am going to try and hack a telescoping antenna to mine to see if the distance is improved. That is if radio shack has one. I need 120 yards reliable effective range. Looks like it will be easy.


I open the HF units up and drilled a hole to get the antenna outside the unit and still couldn't get them to be reliable at 110 yds. Even doing this, some couldn't reach 80 yds.
I don't know if there is more you can do. You end up with about 4" of antenna outside the unit. I used silicone on the inside to seal it.

I switched to Chamberlin and can get 110 reliability. Use lithium batteries!

Page 1 of 2 1 2
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3