Print Thread
SHR- question about marking distance #6019443 11/09/15 05:39 PM
H
hunting_guy Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
H
In general (I know they vary depending upon terrain), how far are the marks used in SHR hunt tests? I'm new to the hunting test thing, I have a 5 1/2 month old lab and I want to get him going in this as early as possible.

Sorry if this is a dumb question, like I said I'm new to the whole hunting test thing. Just trying to get an idea of how far he needs to be marking before I start him in tests. I looked through the rulebook and it says that it depends on terrain but I have no clue if there is an average for that. I've been working him anywhere from 40-85 yards on marks.

Thanks!

Re: SHR- question about marking distance [Re: hunting_guy] #6019574 11/09/15 06:52 PM
M
maximumintensityretriever Offline
Tracker
Tracker
M
It does vary. I have seen 90+ yards in the early spring with no cover and I saw 25 yards in the fall in heavy cover. Your best bet is get your dog marking well in most conditions out to at least 100/yards on land. As far as water most of them are going to splash but I would still have your dog comfortable with long swims, shoreline cover, sticks, vegetation, and decoys before running. You want the the dog over prepared. The very best bet is to get your dog running cold blinds before running running even the lower levels.

Good luck.

Tony Marshall
Maximum Intensity Retrievers
https://m.facebook.com/maximumintensity.retrievers
(903) 720-6842
Re: SHR- question about marking distance [Re: hunting_guy] #6019640 11/09/15 07:28 PM
H
hunting_guy Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
H
Thanks Mr. Marshall, that was exactly the information I was looking for and I appreciate the response.

Re: SHR- question about marking distance [Re: hunting_guy] #6019911 11/09/15 10:08 PM
A
Angie B Offline
Pro Tracker
Pro Tracker
A