Print Thread
New to the site and hunting Texas #5978946 10/15/15 05:25 PM
I
Indyoshi Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
I
Figured I would start here by posting a hello. I have been hunting for about 10 years now. I moved to TX a few years ago and have only been hunting one time for deer as I was invited on extended family land. Had a shot at a small 6 pt, so I opted to let it go. With that said, I have been chomping at the bit and just got my annual public permit.

Im south of Houston, but plan to check out the Sam. Ive read lots of stories, "bewares", tips, etc., but I do have a few questions. Ive looked and searched, but couldnt find an exact answer, so where better to ask?

1) Here in TX there are Buck and Antlerless tags. Would an antlerless tag be used for both does and males that do not have 1" horns?
2) Can antlerless deer be taken in the Sam Houston NF with a regular permit, or only with an extra permit/antlerless tag?
3) Trying to wrap my head around the Antler size restriction. It probably is so simple I will feel like an idiot, but I dont fully get it. Does it mean for a legal buck it needs to have at least one unbranched anter OR if you measure from the inside of the farthest outside antlers it has to be at least 13"? How strict is that? If I shot a buck that its antlers went past the ears in alert position, but upon measuring the inside spread was 12.75", do I get fined at check in?
4) Someone at Academy said there is no scouting on public land, yet I read a lot about people scouting. I did see in the legend of one WMA map "No Scouting", so does it only apply to specific areas?

I am very respectful of the land and rules and want to make sure I am doing everything right. My cousin had a run in with a CO in Indiana after a misunderstanding of the tags and I would hate to be caught in a situation based on negligence.

Any tips/comments appreciated. Also, if anyone wants a partner to hunt in the Sam let me know.

Thanks,
Yoshi