texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Bigg Daddy, LUISM, lwoodham, Pain, Westex2
66809 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 102,036
bill oxner 69,091
stxranchman 55,822
SnakeWrangler 52,167
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,451
BMD 41,064
Big Orn 37,484
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics428,930
Posts6,454,331
Members66,809
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Do I need a 20 MOA base? #5561970 01/24/15 05:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 328
A
aggiegolfer09 Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
A
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 328
Just got a savage 11 in 6.5 creed and a vortex viper 4-16x60 hs-lr.

I was planning on sighting it in at 200 yards. I would like the ability to shoot out to 600 to 800 yards.

Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562120 01/24/15 07:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,644
G
Gone to Texas Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
G
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 2,644
For what its worth, I am getting a 20 MOA base for my 6.5 CM.


Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562126 01/24/15 07:56 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 312
Ritter Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 312
Short answer is no.
The scope has more than enough internal adjustment to shoot those distances.

Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562138 01/24/15 08:15 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,606
T
T Bone Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
T
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 7,606
Wouldn't hurt..


Originally Posted by Jungleexplorer
I really hate to do what I am about to do, because it will be very painful for you.


Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562189 01/24/15 08:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 583
H
headhunter54 Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
H
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 583
I would go 20 MOA if you haven't already bought a base.

Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562218 01/24/15 09:15 PM
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,274
S
Slow Drifter Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
S
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,274
Just keep in mind you'll lose 20 minutes of mechanical down on the scope, but gain the same 20 on top. If the scope has 80 minutes of total internal adjustment, you'll have 60 up and 20 down. Minus 20 becomes your new mechanical zero because your scope is now 20 minutes off parallel with the rifle.


"I have no idea what WW-III will be fought with, but WW-IV will be fought with sticks and stones."

A. Einstein

Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5562289 01/24/15 10:29 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 345
U
usdrscott Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
U
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 345
Leupold has a sale on there mark 4 bases 15 moa I believe


"Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience."
Re: Do I need a 20 MOA base? [Re: aggiegolfer09] #5563500 01/25/15 06:37 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 16,754
C
ChadTRG42 Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
C
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 16,754
Let's calculate it. The vortex viper 4-16x60 hs-lr has a total of 75 MOA of internal available elevation. If you run a standard (zero cant) base, your zero will be about in the middle of the 75 moa. This will allow you about 37.5 moa up and 37.5 down.

If you run a 20 moa base, you decrease your bottom end by 20 moa, which puts you at 17.5 remaining in the down, and 57.5 up for elevation. I recommend not going less than 10 moa remaining for your down amount. IMO, you have enough room for running a 20 moa base. But, when the reticle is placed at the near bottom end of the scope, you decrease the amount of available windage. 17.5 moa should be enough, but if the scope is mounted right or left, you may run out of left and right adjustment.

In this rifle set-up for the 6.5 CM, you will need about 25 moa to get to 1K yards. So, even without the 20 moa base, there is still plenty of elevation available (37.5 moa) to reach out to 1K yards. So, is the 20 moa base needed, no. Can you still use a 20 moa base, yes, but with the added risk of the windage issue. I wouldn't run a 20 moa base with this set-up. The scope will have full function and full windage available without the 20 moa base.



Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3