texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Reelraider, mtn_infantry, herb_mason, Ray@RockPointRanch, Alpha211R
65414 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 93,378
bill oxner 55,229
stxranchman 54,730
SnakeWrangler 46,081
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,430
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,565
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics432,593
Posts6,281,892
Members65,414
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
Game Cam Question #5495112 12/23/14 04:28 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
R
RedRaider3933 Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
R
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
We have Moultrie cams set up at all of our feeder locations. The first go around we had 8G cards in all of the cameras and they worked fine. We switched to 16G cards and now none of the cameras seem to be taking any pictures at all, or they will take pictures for a day or so then stop taking pics. I am wondering if these cameras are not compatable with the larger cards. Anybody have similar issues? All batteries have been replaced and cameras reset. Same issue persists. Thanks.


Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5495159 12/23/14 04:46 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 196
S
SWtexashunter Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
S
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 196
I have Moultrie A-5 cameras, they all have 8GB cards and work perfectly. I would definitely stick with 8's.


Doe slayer...
Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5496707 12/24/14 04:54 AM
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 199
O
offinthewoods Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
O
Joined: Sep 2013
Posts: 199
I have a 555i and that sucker will take 400 pix in a day. Ill get pix of deer when they are at corn but never on a way out they disappear lmao

Its a great cam just think its a little slow

I have a 8GB in mine too max pix is 1888 on the card.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5496852 12/24/14 10:24 AM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 224
J
Jhunt Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
J
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 224
Were the 16GB used in another camera or device? Sometimes you have to re-format them if you put them in another camera. Most Moultrie re-format automaticly when you put the card in, scroll thru the set up menu and when if you come to a "delete" photos, choose "yes". It will re-format. I use both 8GB and 16GB Sandisk.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5496954 12/24/14 01:06 PM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
B
BubRay Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
B
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
Call moultrie and ask which type of formatting the camera takes on the SD cards. I have had different manufacturers tell me different things based off the camera. Seems the moultrie and promos seem the pickiest

Good luck


Take Care,
Bub
Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5496967 12/24/14 01:19 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 27,453
W
Western Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
W
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 27,453
I have read this in allot of internet post when researching for my new TC. It seems that many TC's like specific brand or size cards. Some will not work when a large Mb card is installed.

As mentioned, always format the cards either on the TC or PC. SDHC cards are supposed to be the best minimum level 4 SD card out for them as well.


Die young,,,,as old as you can....

Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5497061 12/24/14 02:21 PM
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 350
T
Texmel Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
T
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 350
I've never had a problem with my cameras exceeding # of pics. Have mostly 4-8 GB SD cards. Always use lowest settings. Erase pics on SD Cards after viewing and downloading selected pics to my PC. Usually have pics of deer/squrriels/cows/coons/birds,etc leaving feeder. If something moves in view field the critter gets a pic.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5497102 12/24/14 02:38 PM
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 68
R
Rifleman1775 Offline
Outdoorsman
Offline
Outdoorsman
R
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 68
I recently took my 16g card out of my TC to dwonload the pics. After downloading, I deleted pics on the card and reinstalled in the TC. Then it gave me a card error. I took it back out and re-installed it....same thing. I replaced the card and took the bad card home to try it on my Mac. The MAc no longer recognizes the card or that it is even there. Not sure what happened.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5497142 12/24/14 02:58 PM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 195
D
DH 1 Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
D
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 195
Here's a shot from my Primos Ultra 35. If you look close, you can see a whitewing at the bottom of the picture along with the 8 point buck.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: RedRaider3933] #5497357 12/24/14 04:43 PM
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
R
RedRaider3933 Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
R
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 153
Thanks for the input. I will try and reformat the cards to see if that works. If not, I'll go back to the 8GB cards, or just buy a better camera.


Re: Game Cam Question [Re: DH 1] #5497457 12/24/14 05:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 589
F
Frio County Hunts Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
F
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 589
We have gone through dozens of cameras and the Primos have held up the best.

Re: Game Cam Question [Re: Rifleman1775] #5497492 12/24/14 05:34 PM
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 27,453
W
Western Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
W
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 27,453
Originally Posted By: Rifleman1775
I recently took my 16g card out of my TC to dwonload the pics. After downloading, I deleted pics on the card and reinstalled in the TC. Then it gave me a card error. I took it back out and re-installed it....same thing. I replaced the card and took the bad card home to try it on my Mac. The MAc no longer recognizes the card or that it is even there. Not sure what happened.


That happened to me once on my 1st TC, I had inadvertently pushed that small switch on the side locking it. Might check that too.


Die young,,,,as old as you can....

Friends don't let Friends drink and post.......

The first 5 day's after the weekend, are the hardest....

Dennis

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3