texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Reelraider, mtn_infantry, Ray@RockPointRanch, Alpha211R, Harold l f
65414 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 93,387
bill oxner 55,245
stxranchman 54,743
SnakeWrangler 46,101
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,430
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,565
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics432,640
Posts6,282,451
Members65,414
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
IT help- #5451129 12/01/14 04:02 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 519
J
jdh78 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
J
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 519
I'm moving my Verizon fios router from one side of the the house to the other. I bought 100' of CAT 5 cable and ran it under the eaves of the house. I wired the plugs exactly the same as the ones that was installed and crimped using the crimping tool.

I put the wire up with the special u shaped staples and was careful not to pinch the cable.

When plugged up router is not connected to internet-WAN light does not come on, no internet service when I bring up my PC.

Is there anything simple I can check at this point? From as best as my eyesight can tell the crimping tool worked, and wires are sequenced right on both ends. I re-did the plugs on each end at least 3x thinking I may have botched the wiring or crimping and no dice.

Re: IT help- [Re: jdh78] #5451249 12/01/14 04:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 20,864
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 20,864
Here is a nice diagram of the RJ45 Ethernet connector. I made millions of these back in the day, and found that only the good tools provide good results. My RJ45 crimper costs about a hundred bucks way back then.

I would advise getting a couple of RJ45 Ethernet faceplates from Lowes or HD. They come with color coded snap in Ethernet connectors and provide a nice cap/crimp tool to push the wires in and snap a nice cover over them. Mount them in a sheetrock box and use store bought Ethernet cables to connect up the cable ends to the hardware.

If you want to test your equipment, take the router to the source and plug it in. If it works, your cat5 cable is bad. You can actually test that cable with an ohm meter and a helper. Have helper short the white/blue pair and read a short on the other end...

Re: IT help- [Re: jdh78] #5451321 12/01/14 05:11 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
R
RCINTX Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
R
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
You can pick up a simple cable tester at radio shack or an electronics supply store for less than $10. I'm betting there is an issue with the cable. Cat 5 is not that sensitive, probably in 1 of the ends.

Re: IT help- [Re: RCINTX] #5451347 12/01/14 05:17 PM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 519
J
jdh78 Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
J
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 519
Thanks-I just read some info on the net and remembered that I didn;t push the insulation all the wayback up into the connector. I'm thinking maybe I messed the plug up somehow.

I bought a kit at Home Depot that had the stripper and crimping tool-probably not the best.

I have a jack to wire up but couldn;t find the right wall plate at home depot that had both a coax and ethernet jack_ was just going to put plugs on each end temporarily until i could find the right wall plate. The end at the Verizon box has to have a plug, so I have to figure that one out at least.

Re: IT help- [Re: jdh78] #5451358 12/01/14 05:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 20,864
Cast Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 20,864
The wall plates I mentioned have coax connections available too. My TIVO/HD box uses one with two coax and two Ethernet connections.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3