texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
ckhsupplies, Pinkcamo1911, Travelinman, Kmat, janeyu
65408 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 93,373
bill oxner 55,200
stxranchman 54,730
SnakeWrangler 46,061
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,430
BMD 41,029
Big Orn 37,484
txshntr 35,565
Facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums45
Topics432,525
Posts6,280,994
Members65,408
Most Online16,728
Mar 25th, 2012
Print Thread
300 blackout scope #5447851 11/29/14 03:47 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,186
J
jhenderson Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
J
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,186
Picked up a Remington 700 sps AAC-sd 300 blackout at a smoking deal today. What a good scope for it? Trying to keep it as practical as possible and still be useful to 200 yards. No red dots. Would go with a good higher power scope but this thing is heavy as it is.

Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5447861 11/29/14 04:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,547
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,547


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5447873 11/29/14 04:10 AM
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,186
J
jhenderson Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
J
Joined: Feb 2010
Posts: 6,186
Now school me on that reticle. I'm a hunter more than anything so all these reticles are Greek to me. Guns I've got good knowledge. Scopes I don't know enough about. Hence the reason I ask so many scope related questions.

Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5448003 11/29/14 12:31 PM
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
F
firemed13 Offline
Light Foot
Offline
Light Foot
F
Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 38
I had a Nikon P-300 on my Blackout and really liked it. Not crazy money either, mounted in a Larue mount.

Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5448228 11/29/14 02:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,547
F
FiremanJG Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
F
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 29,547
Get your muzzle velocity and BC. Plug those into your ballistic calculator and it will spit out a chart for elevation correction and windage correction in Mils which is what the scope is in. That's the short answer.

I hunted with my SS with HD glass yesterday evening. At 200 yards I could still have made a shot 15 minutes after legal light. I paid close attention to the clock it was exactly 15 minutes when I looked last then packed up and hwaded out. Great light transmission!


[Linked Image]
800 Yard Steel Range
Precision Rifle Instruction
Memberships and Classes Available
Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5448334 11/29/14 04:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
TX Grubby Offline
Woodsman
Offline
Woodsman
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 218
I just put http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vort...reticle/reticle on my blackout. hopefully will be out shooting it next week. I hate when life interrupts my fun.

Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5448498 11/29/14 06:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 11,690
T
TexFlip Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
T
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 11,690
I have a Bushnell 10x mil/mil on mine.

Last edited by TexFlip; 11/29/14 06:49 PM.
Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5450974 12/01/14 03:07 PM
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 15,310
C
ChadTRG42 Online Happy
THF Celebrity
Online Happy
THF Celebrity
C
Joined: Sep 2009
Posts: 15,310
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.



Custom and Precision Ammunition!!
www.DallasReloads.com
Type 01 and Type 06 FFL
Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: jhenderson] #5466599 12/09/14 01:53 PM
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 899
westexhunt Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 899
Buddy of mine runs a VX-R 4-12 with a CDS dial for supers and another CDS dial for subs. His 6 year old son has been knocking pigs down with it, he put the 700 rifle in a chassis system that uses AR stocks for an adjustable length of pull. I put a redfield battlezone on mine cause thats what I had, great quality scope for the money but it uses mil reticle and moa adjustments so its pretty useless for dialing, I just hold over with the mil hash marks.

Last edited by westexhunt; 12/09/14 01:55 PM.
Re: 300 blackout scope [Re: ChadTRG42] #5477018 12/15/14 02:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,123
O
okstatefan Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
O
Joined: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,123


Originally Posted By: ChadTRG42
I run the SS 3-9 FFP mil/mil scope on my 300 blk out. It works very well.


Same setup here.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3