Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
coyote trapper / cat trapper ?? need some help #5378135 10/24/14 11:08 PM
daniel1381 Offline OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Offline
Extreme Tracker
well since my tags are filled for deer im wanna start trapping yotes/cats.. can someone point me in the right direction and what to buy and how to setup traps ? I know we have a good population of yotes on property and got a few pics of a bobcat.. thanks for any help since my lease is 20 mins from my house checking traps in am or pm will not be a issue.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Bridger-1-75-Reg...=item566ac9fa6a

Last edited by daniel1381; 10/24/14 11:12 PM.

"From my cold dead hands"

"Any fool can criticize, condemn and complain - and most fools do."

Benjamin Franklin

Re: coyote trapper / cat trapper ?? need some help [Re: daniel1381] #5378653 10/25/14 04:06 AM
P
PWT Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
P
*For the record I'm new to this* but check out Trapperman.com, search the archives, you can learn a lot there. I started trapping coons using DP's and decided to dedicate some time to the K9's and/or cats. I have some traps and might or might not set some this fall/winter (depending on how deer season goes). In my opinion, practice and preparation will go along way, as you can educate every dog and cat on your property if you're doing it wrong. That link you put looks like a good kit get going in the right direction. Good Luck!

Re: coyote trapper / cat trapper ?? need some help [Re: daniel1381] #5378884 10/25/14 01:10 PM
T
Texaswats Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
T
Those bridger 1.75 will work. But might pay off to use a #2 at least, anything with a 6" jaw spread or bigger. I like mb 650s.

Re: coyote trapper / cat trapper ?? need some help [Re: daniel1381] #5378892 10/25/14 01:17 PM
T
Texaswats Offline
Light Foot
Light Foot
T
Also, very important part of trapping is your anchoring system. Try to pick up some if these...

They work like this...