Lead and Non-Lead Hunting Bullets #5196705 07/11/14 04:19 PM
G
Gone to Texas Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
G
Howdy,

I am relatively new to hunting, only been doing it for 2 years. I have been reading about the debate over using lead bullets and saw how California has made it illegal for hunting use. Other states are talking about lead bullets too. My original thought was this is just a bunch of hippie, tree huger crap and those nanny states can use all the non lead bullets they want.

However, I recently watched a short video about lead ammo vs non-lead and it got me thinking. I did not know about the potential impacts it could have on other wildlife. The price of the non-lead ammo is high, but if I could prevent an animal from being poisoned I wouldn't care about the price. Also, people could be ingesting lead fragments which can't be good. The performance of non-lead ammo looks positive and other than the price it seems easy enough to switch.

Anyway, is this a bunch of Al Gore type crap or do y'all think lead actually poses a threat to us and other animals?

Video Link

Last edited by Gone to Texas; 07/11/14 04:25 PM.
Re: Lead and Copper Hunting Bullets [Re: Gone to Texas] #5196802 07/11/14 04:40 PM
L
LandPirate Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
L
I don't buy it. Good ol' Owl Gore and his merry band of misfits, with their misinformation.

Personally, I can't tell you how many dove, quail, turkey, duck, geese, rabbit, squirrel, etc I've eaten throughout my lifetime where I bit down on or had to dig out a lead pellet.

I recently watched a program about the California Condor in the Grand Canyon. They found several dead, leading them to the conclusion that since it was deer season, the Condors ate the carcass remains of dead mulies and elk, thereby eating the lead bullets from the carcass and then dying.

That's quite a stretch and quite a theory if you ask me. I'd like to see the actual evidence before I'll accept that.