texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
WBRC, having fun now, GingerFredMan, ECBwHntr, christianhay
70565 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 110,641
bill oxner 91,416
SnakeWrangler 64,122
stxranchman 60,261
Gravytrain 46,950
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
BMD 41,241
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics616,004
Posts11,410,222
Members85,565
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? #4115777 03/12/13 03:10 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
G
GUTIT Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
Bought rifle new, no issues with factory mags, bought a few new pmags on here a few months ago and they will not fully lock when loaded.
Wth?


Stronghold Construction Group
Commercial and Residential Project Management
Managing all your construction needs
Kent@StrongholdConstructionGroupDOTcom


Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: GUTIT] #4115782 03/12/13 03:12 AM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,735
B
BobG Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,735
Same here. PITA!

Ended up selling it...not just for that though smile


Gravley Custom Woodwork: Household Furniture, Custom Cabinetry and much more!

Hunters, Fisherman and other liars gather here.
Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: GUTIT] #4115785 03/12/13 03:12 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,799
D
dtownrex Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
D
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,799
Will it lock with the bolt locked back?
Most mags when completely filled will have trouble locking into the receiver with bolt closed.

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: dtownrex] #4115842 03/12/13 03:42 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
G
GUTIT Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
Yes, but will still not feed properly.


Stronghold Construction Group
Commercial and Residential Project Management
Managing all your construction needs
Kent@StrongholdConstructionGroupDOTcom


Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: GUTIT] #4115845 03/12/13 03:44 AM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 13,358
J
jdk1985 Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
J
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 13,358
Difference between AR-10 and LR308?


Instagram @justinkingwoodworking
Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: jdk1985] #4115880 03/12/13 04:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
G
GUTIT Offline OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
G
Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 5,018
Same platform, LR only stands for long range in Panther language.
Would not think it would matter as far as mags go.


Stronghold Construction Group
Commercial and Residential Project Management
Managing all your construction needs
Kent@StrongholdConstructionGroupDOTcom


Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: jdk1985] #4115883 03/12/13 04:04 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 631
T
Tim9880 Online Content
Tracker
Online Content
Tracker
T
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 631
Heard the .308 PMAGs don't work well with every gun. Got a buddy who loves them in his sig 716, and another who says they dont work in his .308 Rock river AR. No personal experience though.

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: Tim9880] #4115956 03/12/13 04:46 AM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 251
M
mdc10 Offline
Bird Dog
Offline
Bird Dog
M
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 251
Dpms Ar-10 mags are not interchangeable with other Ar-10 platforms. They have there own version. When buying they must specify for Dpms lr-308.

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: mdc10] #4116001 03/12/13 05:30 AM
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,303
C
C B Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
C
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,303
Originally Posted By: mdc10
Dpms Ar-10 mags are not interchangeable with other Ar-10 platforms. They have there own version. When buying they must specify for Dpms lr-308.


^^^^^^^^this right here.

Rock River AR 10 is the same way. You have to use Rock River mags

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: C B] #4116006 03/12/13 05:36 AM
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,199
A
Aquaman Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
A
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 2,199
I never had any issues with mine


"Speak softly and carry a big stick" - Teddy Roosevelt
Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: mdc10] #4116700 03/12/13 04:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 545
L
Loaded Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
L
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 545
Originally Posted By: mdc10
Dpms Ar-10 mags are not interchangeable with other Ar-10 platforms. They have there own version. When buying they must specify for Dpms lr-308.


DPMS is an LR-308 and is NOT technically an AR-10 platform. People seem to use the terms interchangeably. The AR-10 is an Armalite based design, and although many parts are interchangeable, the uppers and mags are not.
PMAGs are supposed to work with LR-308 platform guns, but results seem to vary. There are also LR-308s made to use FN FAL or H&K G3 mags and obviously PMAGs won't work in those.
I believe AR-10 mags are based on the M14 design.

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: C B] #4117135 03/12/13 08:17 PM
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 13,358
J
jdk1985 Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
J
Joined: Aug 2011
Posts: 13,358
Originally Posted By: C B


Rock River AR 10 is the same way. You have to use Rock River mags


Almost. RRA LAR-8 takes RRA mags or FN/FAL Mags (and one other I cannot remember off the top of my head)


Instagram @justinkingwoodworking
Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: jdk1985] #4117852 03/13/13 01:58 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,513
O
Old_Town Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
O
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 3,513
I thought the DPMS was an SR-25 pattern gun. It should work with pmags

Re: DPMS LR308 will not take pmags? [Re: Old_Town] #4118190 03/13/13 04:00 AM
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
A
Adelbridge Offline
Pro Tracker
Offline
Pro Tracker
A
Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,202
My r25 likes p mags

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3