Print Thread
Cottonseed v. Protein Pellets #4114805 03/11/13 08:44 PM
A
Aggieivy Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
We've been feeding protein pellets to East Texas whitetail deer for many years and have no complaints and great results with our management program. However, we just picked up a lease in South Texas and the biologist for the ranch swears by cottonseed. Admittedly, I have no experience with feeding cottonseed to whitetail because we never saw a reason to replace our "proven" protein program. But the larger acreage in South Texas is going to kill our budget for supplemental feed.

I've done some initial research and it appears that cottonseed is cheaper and consumed by fewer species (whitetail and cattle--so I'm not worrying about feeding birds and hogs). What are the positives/negatives of switching from protein pellets to cottonseed? Is it worth doing?

Helpful info regarding price, handling, storage, wildlife consumption, antler and body growth, tooth wear, and delivery methods is much appreciated. I've heard it stands up well to moisture and that there are easy ways to build wire bails to deliver the feed--in comparison to expensive protein pellet feeders delivery systems.

Thanks in advance for helpful comments.

Re: Cottonseed v. Protein Pellets [Re: Aggieivy] #4114842 03/11/13 09:04 PM
D
Double-R Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
D