Print Thread
dealing with depression #3813469 12/04/12 06:29 AM
R
RoadBlock Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
R
hi, as you guys know i am a disabled vet. I have an unexplained muscle disease, severe ptsd with depression and hallucinations as well as multiple traumatic brain injuries. Im posting because Im going nuts. My Dr says my ptsd and head trauma has caused my symptoms to manifest in severe ocd like symptoms. Frankly i get hooked on something i enjoy and sink my teeth in till my gums bleed, metaphorically speaking. I hate all this, i feel guilty writing this, i feel like Im whining but i need to put this out there. My ocd stuff goes like this i get hooked and i latch on and obsess to the point of insanity. I did it with kayak fishing to the point that i am on a sponsored fishing pro staff now. I did it with photography and that is my major in college. I am now doing it with hunting. I am coinstantly reading, on the forum, scouring the net, spending money i don't need to on stuff and instantly feeling guilty. I drive my wife crazy and my Dr says there is no way to control it. Im on several meds and they help sometimes. I will give y'all a taste so you can understand. Right now my hands are shaking and my skin is crawling because i am writing this. The hunting part i love, its peaceful and relaxing, but things like the rifle. I am supposed to get one for Christmas from my wife so i am constantly hunting for the right fit, i was loaned a great fun by my fil, completely tweaked and dialed in, he gave me a box of reloaded ammo made specifically for this winchester model 70 243, after testing different loads and etc for years. A great gun, he said that it was mine for the season. I am constantly on the forum. I hunt with my church and when i can't go hunting I feel deflated and like i have failed. Then i feel like crap for looking a gift horse in the mouth, if i don't hunt i get on edge and agitated, frustrated and angry. I want nothin.g more than to hunt my limi