Print Thread
A few questions about my dog. #184827 06/12/07 04:47 AM
C
ChrisG Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
C
Alright I am picking up my dog tomorrow and I was wondering what you vet. dog trainers thought. She is a half lab half gsp and I actually got her from a guy on the fishing forum. Her mom the GSP is a trained hunter and the father is a good looking yellow lab from what I have seen. Do you think she will have a strong instinct to hunt? What age should I start kennel training, and should I just get a larger kennel for the pup or start small? What commands should I start using in the beginning? What could I do to help bring out the hunter in her or would it even help? I believe she will be a great dog and I just want to do what ever I can to help her along the way. I am new to the whole dog training bit so any advice would be appreciated. Thanks guys for the feed back.

Chris

Re: A few questions about my dog. [Re: ChrisG] #184828 06/12/07 01:25 PM
E
easton1025 Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
E
start kennel training NOW...as for the other stuff Im sure alot of response will come..Look back in the section and there is alot of good training advice already covered by some of the more knowledgeable on here...one that ring a bell right off hand was the topic of "what commands do you use"..good luck with your new pup...

Re: A few questions about my dog. [Re: ChrisG] #184829 06/12/07 11:14 PM
Guy Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
Well, you say you are getting your pup tomorrow, but that was right after midnight, so I’m guessing that is really today. Congratulations on your new pup, and welcome to the forum!

I think most on here would agree with easton, start the kennel training now! I would just go to petco or one of those type stores and get a kennel like the one below: