Veteran Tracker
Good on ya... up

Re: Hog Hunting Rant [Re: Simple Searcher] #5823961 07/09/15 02:40 AM
skinnerback Online Content
THF Celebrity Chef
Online Content
THF Celebrity Chef
Originally Posted By: Simple Searcher
I did some trading with a landowner many years ago where I would work for a chance to hunt. I was an electrician and I wired up a barn and added lights and outlets here and there. I almost became better than family when he saw gates had been fixed, trash was picked up, and blinds had been repaired when I would go out hunting. And he got a report every day on what I saw or shot. I can still call and go hunting there any time I want.
So, if you have a trade that can get your foot in the door, it might be worth a try.

Yes sir! That's what I'm talking about. I have hunted several properties including the property that I mainly hunt deer on now because I was given an opportunity to prove myself as someone who cared about the land and did things that needed to be done when it was hot, or cold, or raining, whatever, and everyone else had excuses as to why they didn't help with anything in the off season. If given the chance step up, bust your butt, and do things without being told to within reason. That sort of thing goes a long way especially when a land owner is really in need. Need to re-wire the barn and put in lights & receptacles/panel....done. Need to mow, need to paint, need to fix the septic, fix the fence, fix the tractor, fix the AC, trim trees clear brush, help with the cows, pick up trash that's not yours...etc. If you meet someone who is needing help be straight up with them that you are looking for a place to hunt, you are on a low budget, but are willing to work to earn your keep. There are actually LO's out there who are looking for just that, just have to meet them.

Re: Hog Hunting Rant [Re: skinnerback] #5825498 07/10/15 03:29 AM
S
sqiggy Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
S