Texas Hunting Forum

Red Stag Trophy Classification

Posted By: Denton44

Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 02:37 AM

Can anyone give me an idea or post a pic or two on what a 150 class Stag would look like? Asking about the antlers. Thks.
Posted By: syncerus

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:11 AM

There are several scoring systems for red deer. For the basic CIC medal levels you can simply search on "gold medal red stag" or "bronze medal red stag" on the Bing/Google image search. Red stag racks are so much bigger that WT that I'd expect a 150" stag to be quite small. I'm no expert and perhaps one of the professionals will drop by and answer your question.

http://www.nzhuntinginfo.com/trophy-scoring.html
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:25 AM

These two Red Stags from NZ were high silver at the time. High Silver was 320-340 SCI. Low Silver was 300-320. Gold started at 340 and up.
The first one scored 336 SCI and the second one was 324 SCI.

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:29 AM

It occurred to me that you might be referring to Sika stags. If you look at the bottom of the linked page, they've got some example trophies.

http://www.sikahunting.co.nz/guided-hunts/guided-sika-hunts/
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:30 AM

Title to this thread is "Red Stag Trophy Classification"

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:33 AM

Oops! I read the original post, but not the title of the thread. Besides, you should know better than to listen to me.

wink

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 03:42 AM

I was thinking they might be about like this. But bigger bodied as they are well fed on the Texas ranches.
Posted By: sparrish8

Re: Red Stag Trophy Classification - 11/20/15 04:02 AM

150" seems very small, a 250" stag would be a management stag and should go for around 2k-2500 at least thats what ive seen