Texas Hunting Forum

Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands

Posted By: BackWoodzBoss

Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands - 03/27/17 07:01 PM

Hello, I am fairly new to Turkey Hunting, this will only be my 3rd season.
I do not have access to a lease to hunt on, so I will be going to LBJ. Has anybody ever hunted Turkey at the National Grass lands? if so, please let me know how you did. Thank you

Re: Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands - 03/27/17 07:02 PM

Thank you
Posted By: UTMallard

Re: Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands - 03/27/17 08:25 PM

You probably wont get any meaningful advice on a public forum. I have hunted there twice and worked birds both times, but never sealed the deal. Find a creek on google earth and go hunt!
Posted By: kmon11

Re: Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands - 03/28/17 04:49 AM

Good advice on he Creek on google earth. If you search back over several years on here there are a few good threads on the place.

Good luck. have fun and be safe.
Posted By: Tjack28

Re: Turkey Hunting At LBJ Grasslands - 03/28/17 05:22 AM

Haven't hunted there in years but have taken birds there in past years. One of he biologist up that way is also on the NWTF state board, and she told me that the last couple of years had good hatches with last year being the best they've seen in years, so there should be lots of jakes and plenty of 2 year old birds.

That being said, the turkeys in that area see a lot of traffic much of the year with deer, quail, water fowl and turkey hunters that frequent the area, so most birds quickly learn to spend more time on the private land that borders the public. One of the biologist told me that during a study birds wearing transmitters actually stayed on private land and would only travel fence borders and seldom crossed over onto public during the season. When they did it was only for a short period during mid day hours when most hunters left the woods to break for lunch.