Texas Hunting Forum

Questions from a rookie turkey hunter

Posted By: Emmett

Questions from a rookie turkey hunter - 04/27/16 06:35 AM

I am new to turkey hunting, but not hunting. The only time I've really ever shot turkey was during deer season when they show up at the feeder, but now I have an annual lease and my nephew and I are taking full advantage of it, it's a new lease for us. We hunt a pecan orchard and we have seen turkey on the trail cameras. This orchard has not been hunted in quite a number of years:
--When do turkey usually start moving around in the morning and when do they normally roost.
--We have two decoys a Gobbler and a hen.
--We out there the past few days and haven't seen anything. We were calling with a mouth call and a slate with no replies.
--The property is new to the land owner but he has seen turkey out there during deer season when he was looking at the property to buy it.
--Since the property has not been hunted in years and the turkey are used to going there during pecan season is it just going to take then a while to realize there is corn year round in the feeders.

Any advice or tips a welcome. Thank you for any and all help.
Emmett
Posted By: Western

Re: Questions from a rookie turkey hunter - 04/27/16 12:12 PM

Just my opinion from what I have seen over 35 years.

I have seen them come off the roost as early as 10 minutes before technical daylight, like you can only see well 50 yards or so. Usually start to roost in late evening, say 30 minutes to dark. Some things to remember., If there was severe weather over night, they may already be on the ground (blown out). Often in Spring, Toms will gobble from the roost to get feedback location from a hen, then will fly as close as possible to her (why I am out set up before daylight) I have had them land with-in 10 yards before. Common when there is strong competition.