Texas Hunting Forum

Hog Hunting Rant

Posted By: Lead Kisses

Hog Hunting Rant - 07/05/15 05:19 AM

So I'm fairly new to Texas and am used to having my own land to hunt, family land, and plenty of state land. Texas isn't like that and it can cost a bit to set up a lease to harvest white tail. I get it. Everything costs money. I'm a student and money is tight but I still want to hunt and I'm willing to save up, just not spend a fortune.

I work at an outdoors store in the DFW area, and I love meeting other avid outdoors men. All I hear at work all day is how much hogs are destroying and overrunning anything and they are a pain in everyone's' [censored]. So I try to seize the day and offer to come over and shoot some, assuring that I'll clean up after myself. As soon as I offer, all of a sudden here come the excuses. They backtrack and suddenly their land isn't huntable, the hogs aren't that bad, or they want to make a few hundred bucks off of me per day. Ughhh... If they're that bad, shouldn't you be paying me to kill them?

I'll get off my butt and do some searching for leases after the summer heat passes and fork out the cash to do some hunting, but I'm tired of all this hog talk.
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Hog Hunting Rant - 07/05/15 06:14 AM

welcome ta THF.. what kinda hunten u do ? Rifle. archery ? their is some WMA public land... check lower in form Public Hunting Form ... know the feeling of tight budget hunting.. best Wishes flag
Posted By: Double Naught Spy

Re: Hog Hunting Rant - 07/05/15 12:35 PM

Quote: