Texas Hunting Forum

150 grain ballistic did not do him in

Posted By: pedrov23

150 grain ballistic did not do him in - 03/08/15 05:44 PM

I had been stalking this tusker for several months, but he always stood outside the green lights of the feeder. Finally had a shot at him and took it with my Weatherby .308, using 150 grain ballistic. It was only about a 50 yard shot and I knew I hit him in the left shoulder, which usually brings them down for me. But I found nothing, no blood trail at all. Searched for over an hour in the dark, which was a bit nerve wracking. Anyway, my buddy shot him two nights later as he came limping in to the feeder. Sure enough, there was a wound in his left shoulder (not shown here). Man, our Texas hogs are tough. Guess it just didn't penetrate the shield?? Or the bullet fragmented. Not sure. Upon further investigation, I have read that it is probably best to use 165 gr or maybe 180 gr. Any thoughts?

Posted By: der Teufel

Re: 150 grain ballistic did not do him in - 03/08/15 06:01 PM

I dunno.

I use 150 and 180 grain bullets (Hornady Interlocks - nothing exotic). Which bullet depends upon what gun I'm using. I can't say I've ever felt undergunned with the 150's. In fact, I reload for a buddy's .30-06 and I'm planning to switch him from 180's to 150's because when supplies were tight, Hornady kept making the 150 grain SP bullets while they suspended the manufacture of the 180 BTSP's I'd been using. The 180's are again available, but who knows what the future will bring? Anyway, so far the 150's have worked fine for me.

Typically on a shoulder shot to a hog that weighs 150 Lbs or less a 150 grain SP bullet exits.

I'm shooting a .308 also.
--
Posted By: 603Country

Re: 150 grain ballistic did not do him in - 03/08/15 07:12 PM

Years ago I blasted a 400 pounder with my 270 and a first generation 130 gr Nosler BT. Dropped him. Bullet stuck in the shield/cartilage in the far side.
Posted By: JRJ6