Texas Hunting Forum

Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again

Posted By: CCBIRDDOGMAN

Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 02:06 PM

I've been running dogs once a year for these guys for about four years now, even when the rest of Texas is slow, this ranch seems to keep holding it's own. We hunted just a little over an hour Thursday evening and found 5 coveys. Friday morning we hunted 9 am to noon and found 11 coveys. Friday evening we hunted 2 hours and found four coveys. Saturday morning we hunted 8:30 to 11:15 and found 9 coveys. Saturday evening we only hunted the last hour of daylight and found two coveys. I think they ended up killing around 45 birds.

It was probably the driest I have seen the place,they need some rain bad.

This is a hunt that I look forward to every year now, all of us have became friends over these years and I look forward to hunting with them for years to come. Great people and I am proud to know them. Pics are on my phone so I'll post them after this, be patient.

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 02:11 PM

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 02:12 PM

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 02:16 PM

I will try to post some more later.
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 02:16 PM

cheers
Posted By: danceswithquail

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/22/18 07:39 PM

Awesome Kevin! Know somebody is livin' right when the dogs have them pinned out in open like that
Posted By: bobcat1

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/23/18 12:42 AM

Nice pics Kevin. Are those Boykins?

Re: Good hunt at the Shin Oak Ranch again - 01/24/18 02:48 PM

Sorry Bobby forgot to reply, Yes the ranch owner and two of his close friends that were hunting with us, all 3 have Boykins. Great little dogs for finding dead birds. They have hunted with my dogs for 4 years now and really help out alot.
Posted By: bobcat1