Texas Hunting Forum

I got a super opportunity!

Posted By: quackcommander

I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 12:14 AM

I have been managing some land for good family friends and this year I asked if I could turn a 100 acre farm field into a dove paradise. Ive got tractors and implements and good amount of resources but I do not know where to start!

Do I prep the land? i.e til, disc or plow?

Is 100 acres too much to start with? My faming experience is limited to cattle and cutting costal.

Are sun flowers the best for this? I also want to plant some milo and alflfa adjacent to this field to intrigue the deer as well.

I am a novice but love to learn. Any tips suggestions or what ever is welcomed!

Thanks in advance!
Posted By: Fooshman

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 12:17 AM

What is there now?

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 02:05 AM

Originally Posted By: Fooshman
What is there now?
In one spot costal and a few weeds. in another spot there is some tall grass. I do have a brush hog and 3 point tiller I could use to prep if needed.
Posted By: Greekangler

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 02:12 AM

next season- you are late- can't plant anything but millet or other duck food right now......thats pushing it as well- plant sunflowers or milo next year- or winter wheat this year for next
Posted By: Fooshman

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 09:21 AM

I'd hunt it as is. Might surprise you.
Posted By: BigAL33

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 10:25 AM

Plow some ground just before the season starts. This may bring in a few doves this year. I think your real opportunity is next year. In some fields, all you have to do is plow to bring up the native sunflowers & croton.
Posted By: BarneyWho

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 12:35 PM

plow it and throw out about 10K pounds of milo. That should help.
Posted By: Guy

Re: I got a super opportunity! - 08/12/15 01:32 PM

Originally Posted By: BarneyWho