Texas Hunting Forum

Shot Size

Posted By: mattfox

Shot Size - 01/12/15 07:43 PM

I'm new to duck hunting. What size shot for mallards in the 25-40 yard range?
Posted By: Going Green

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 07:53 PM

3's or 4's
Posted By: RedRaider3933

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 07:54 PM

Unless I am shooting teal I almost exclusively use 3 inch #2's.
Posted By: Moto382

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 08:05 PM

3inch 2's for me all season
Posted By: jdk1985

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 08:05 PM

I shoot a lot of #2s and I like them... a lot. Does not mean other's won't work.
Posted By: sallysue

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 08:07 PM

Originally Posted By: Moto382
3inch 2's for me all season
Posted By: ndhunter

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 08:25 PM

3" #4 shot
Posted By: schmellba99

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 09:00 PM

2-3/4" #4's or #2's mostly.

3" if it is a bluebird day or I'm apt to shoot some geese.

This is for steel shot. If you are shooting biszmuth or heavi shot, you can go up a size.
Posted By: southern_fowler

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 09:37 PM

Hevi metal 4's or 6's for ducks and 2's for decoying geese
Posted By: LarryCopper

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 10:44 PM

Originally Posted By: Going Green
3's or 4's
Posted By: Guy

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 11:32 PM

I shoot #4 w IC choke all season, it kills birds fine with in 45 yards. Anything bigger will just unnecessarily tear up your bird more.
Posted By: texasdude28

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 11:34 PM

3" 2's or 2.75" 3's.
Posted By: droebuck

Re: Shot Size - 01/12/15 11:45 PM

3", #3, 1 3/8oz for me the extra 1/8oz of shot makes for better kills than the speed.
Posted By: beaversnipe

Re: Shot Size - 01/13/15 12:07 AM

Buy a patternmastern duck choke

Shoot cheap 2 3/4 nr 4 kent fasteel or 3 inch blue steel rio nr 3 on longer shots or windy days.

Posted By: _Scooter_

Re: Shot Size - 01/13/15 03:55 AM