Texas Hunting Forum

New to duck hunting questions?

Posted By: pervis

New to duck hunting questions? - 10/26/14 01:49 AM

OK so I'm new to duck hunting for this year. So take it easy guys. I've mainly just shot dove most of my life.

Questions....
1. I've heard about only being able to shoot ducks till noon..I can't find anywhere on the texas parks and wildlife website that says that.

2. Can u shoot teal during duck season? I shot a few teal during early teal season but can you still shoot teal during duck season?

3. Since the limit is 6 birds and a combo of species what is a hen?

4. Thanks for bearing w me. Hopefully you guys can shed some insight to my questions. I'm Sure il have more. Thanks again
Posted By: #Hayraker

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/26/14 02:13 AM

1. Only on certain public areas
2. Yes
3. A female duck
4. Your welcome
Posted By: _Scooter_

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/26/14 02:26 AM

Does TPWD offer a waterfowl identification course???
Posted By: JT Evans

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/26/14 12:34 PM

Pervis this web site will give you some good info. Look for the duck identification link on the right side.

http://www.flyways.us/

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/26/14 12:51 PM

Thanks guys for the answers. Yeah I've been watching ducks fly during dove season in order to help myself begin to identify them. This forum has been really helpful.
Posted By: WatersFowler

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/27/14 05:54 PM

The best way to learn about duck ID is to go out and shoot a bunch of ducks, then take them to the game warden for him to help you out. They are great at identifying them and will really teach you a lesson! LOL

Just having some fun with you. You are doing right by asking questions.
Posted By: DuckCoach1985

Re: New to duck hunting questions? - 10/27/14 06:48 PM

Download the DU app.. they have a waterfowl ID tool you can look at anywhere without internet.