Texas Hunting Forum

hunting hogs on public land

Posted By: fishingoncredit

hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 12:37 AM

Hey how's it going? Well I'm new to hunting hog's but I really want to start hog hunting. I'm pretty much restricted to public hunting lands so I'm just trying to get some opinions on what sign to look for and should I be stalking or climbing a tree and waiting for some bacon to walk my way. Any advice is welcome! and thanks in advance.
Posted By: Fishing Fester

Re: hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 01:38 AM

Not sure where u are located, but lbj grasslands is prime from what I've heard customers talking about.they stalk the game trails
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 02:20 AM

welcome ta THF. if hogs are moving, climb tree, rifle can reach out & touch em. leaves mostly gone, can see good distance. my best luck been, wondering about the woods in thick stuff, bump & run best wishes flag

Re: hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 02:55 AM

Thanks
Thanks for the info. I'm in Dallas. Are lbj grasslands the same as caddo national grasslands?
Posted By: taterpop

Re: hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 06:11 AM

If you didn't mind the drive to white oak wildlife managment it's over run with hogs and they have a dog season.
Posted By: Big Daddy K

Re: hunting hogs on public land - 01/07/15 02:41 PM

White Oak used to be run over with hogs. Haven't seen any since bow season began. Also all of the bottoms were pretty much flooded last weekend and they don't like you parking on the highway to access good hunting areas. Last years hog hunts there were an absolute bust for hunters and dogs. The years of drought have really hurt the acorn crop from what I've been told.

Cooper WMA would probably be better for pigs. Historically it has been good year after year and access is a little easier. We will probably start there Saturday and the more the hunters the better. Keeps pigs moving. Its shotgun only.