Texas Hunting Forum

seeking a reasonably priced IR or thermal

Posted By: patrick123

seeking a reasonably priced IR or thermal - 09/24/17 11:04 PM

good evening all, i am seeking advice on the best i can get for around 700 to 1700. thanks in advance and if it is a little more than that i may be able to swing it. thanks as i have little to know knowledge on this topic and it would be mounted on an AR.
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: seeking a reasonably priced IR or thermal - 09/25/17 04:03 AM

Best= $700-$1700= not much!!! When you go to thermal, it's not cheap. IR will be cheaper, but it's not near as good for night hunting.

Honestly, some of the prices you will be at for thermal will be in the $2000-$2800 area. You can find some good entry units for this.

I'm also thinking about selling my FLIR RS 32 1-5 unit to upgrade.
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: seeking a reasonably priced IR or thermal - 09/25/17 04:31 AM

This is about as good as it gets for the price:

http://texashuntingforum.com/forum/ubbth...-5x#Post6897888
Posted By: Outdoor Legacy

Re: seeking a reasonably priced IR or thermal - 09/25/17 04:20 PM

Originally Posted By: patrick123
good evening all, i am seeking advice on the best i can get for around 700 to 1700. thanks in advance and if it is a little more than that i may be able to swing it. thanks as i have little to know knowledge on this topic and it would be mounted on an AR.

Hey Patrick, I'll be glad to throw in my 2 cents.