Texas Hunting Forum

Seeing through my scope problems,not sure how to go about this.

Posted By: rseveer63

Seeing through my scope problems,not sure how to go about this. - 01/21/16 12:33 AM

I recently went on a deer hunt and shot a couple of Does at about 50 to 60 yards with excellent results. However when I took a shot ( ok several) at about 150 to 200 yards the deer just stood there looking around wondering what the heck I was doing. I sighted in my gun which is Browning A Bolt .270, with a Nikon Monarch Mildot 4-16x42. The problem I'm having is when I put my cheek on the stock I have a hard time seeing my target, I guess its the parallax that's throwing me off, I have to move my head around on the stock to get my target in the scope. Not sure what to do about this, I'm a newbie at this and want to feel comfortable enough that when I'm hunting I make the best shot possible. I also know I'm anticipating the shot and pulling my shots. I would love any feedback and even would like to get with a pro to help with my shooting skills. I know this is the optics forum so any suggestions on use of my scope would be appreciated. Constructive criticism appreciated!
Posted By: rseveer63

Re: Seeing through my scope problems,not sure how to go about this. - 01/21/16 12:37 AM

Just to add, when I sighted in my scope I was 1" high at 50 and bulls eye at 100 yards. Perhaps I should have put it 1" high at 100 yards but at the shooting range I go too, not the best in the world for tables and a sturdy support. So not sure if what I'm shooting is actual or just lucky.
Posted By: Texas buckeye

Re: Seeing through my scope problems,not sure how to go about this. - 01/21/16 12:52 AM

may not be a scope issue at all if you feel you are pulling the shots, you probably are, and that gets amplified at 200 yards much more so than at 50 yards.

practice shooting at 150-200 will make a difference, but honestly if you are pulling shots any practice you can get will help.