Texas Hunting Forum

Meat mixer question?

Posted By: Tru2lifetaxidermy

Meat mixer question? - 12/08/15 02:47 AM

So I've been processing all my game for about 15 years. I just hate paying the price for someone to do it for me. I enjoy doing it but hate mixing the meat/seasoning! Having the meat near freezing temp hurts the hands when mixing. Anyone use a mixer? Looking for advice a something that will last and the does and donts please...
Posted By: StretchR

Re: Meat mixer question? - 12/08/15 03:31 AM

I have a 20 lb LEM meat mixer that works well for me. I use it for a variety of sausage and ground jerky. It is LIGHT YEARS ahead of mixing by hand. I use C-clamps to fasten the corners to the edge and end of my kitchen island (three corners). When mixing, I reverse directions on the crank handle after few minutes to get a better mix. I also use a mixing spatula to scrape down edges and the blades a couple of times during the mix. It works well for me to get a good blend of meat and even distribution of spices. Your recipes need some liquid to mix the spices well, but not a lot.
Posted By: decook

Re: Meat mixer question? - 12/08/15 12:09 PM

Originally Posted By: StretchR
I have a 20 lb LEM meat mixer that works well for me. I use it for a variety of sausage and ground jerky. It is LIGHT YEARS ahead of mixing by hand. I use C-clamps to fasten the corners to the edge and end of my kitchen island (three corners). When mixing, I reverse directions on the crank handle after few minutes to get a better mix. I also use a mixing spatula to scrape down edges and the blades a couple of times during the mix. It works well for me to get a good blend of meat and even distribution of spices. Your recipes need some liquid to mix the spices well, but not a lot.

This. All good points that hit the mark. Buy one
Posted By: Espy

Re: Meat mixer question? - 12/08/15 12:24 PM