Texas Hunting Forum

Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas

Posted By: JDMore

Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 04:18 PM

Morning fellas,

Been hunting mainly around Comanche and now spending more time in East Texas. My primary rifle is a Mauser 7mm Mag, but thinking since Im deep in the woods now I should pick-up a 30/30.

Any recommendations/suggestions or is the 7mm Mag gonna get the job done?
Posted By: BOBO the Clown

Re: Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 04:20 PM

If the 7mm can't get the job done. The world might end.

Contrary to popular belief East Texas has the ability for some very long shots.
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 04:26 PM

7mm should be fine, but hey if you want a lever gun I say jump on it.
Posted By: JRJ6

your current rifle is just fine. if you want to add, get the 30/30

I know it can get the job done, just wasnt sure, with the heavy cover. I am fairly new to hunting and hunting at the lease in Comanche the likelyhood of taking a shot into cover is very minimal as most everything is wide open at our blind. At our new place in East Texas, its all thick woods/cover. Was told the 7mm would have a higher probability of the bullet deflecting off a branch etc. (Hope I am making sense)
Posted By: txtrophy85

Re: Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 04:45 PM

All buckets are going to deflect when they hit something other than the animal

You may want a handier rifle like a model 7 in 7mm-08.
Posted By: jshouse

Re: Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 05:16 PM

Originally Posted By: txtrophy85

yep, and you are actually just increasing the odds (however small) of hitting something other than the animal by using a larger caliber bullet, or bucket.
Posted By: BigDad

Re: Rifle Suggestion / Hunting East Texas - 12/18/14 05:21 PM

Originally Posted By: txtrophy85

This^