Texas Hunting Forum

Food Plots

Posted By: dshafranek

Food Plots - 12/11/14 02:47 PM

I was wondering what works well down here in Texas for food plots? My hunting ground is in Grayson & Fannin Counties. Where I lived before moving down here we would put clover, chicory, & alfalfa in the spring and then a smaller Brassica/turnip plot in the fall. I wasn't sure if that would work down here or even when I should start planting them for next year.

Thanks
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Food Plots - 12/11/14 03:05 PM

Are Grayson and Fannin counties not in Texas?

I would say Oats and wheat are big staples. We plant oats and turnips in south texas.

Re: Food Plots - 12/11/14 03:11 PM

Yes they are in Texas just north of DFW area. I just thought there maybe a difference on what I plant from other parts of Texas.
Posted By: PMK

Re: Food Plots - 12/11/14 03:49 PM

I have used oats for decades but the past 10 or so years, I started playing around with various other seeds and blends. My properties are all in central Texas (Burnet, Lampasas, Williamson, Llano counties). The majority of my blend is still oats mainly due to the price but also have chirory, clover, blackeyed peas (or field peas), clover, turnip, wheat for fall food plots ... and I usually save the seeds out of pumpkins carved at Halloween for the following year late spring planting. Deer eat the crud out of the blooms.