Texas Hunting Forum

Age this fat boy, and is he legal?

Posted By: Mas Cabeza

Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:05 AM

My wife has been a sporadic hunter over the years, and normally doesn't care about deer, but this buck has her fired up. Is he as old as we guess him, and do you all think he will pass AR? Thanks guys
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:08 AM

Post mature on age and to close to tell from those pics.
Posted By: billyhunt

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:19 AM

For me, and I aint good on age, but he should be on ss. Im leaning on no for AR, I hunt in an AR county, and I would have to REALLY look him OVER. 2cents

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:20 AM

I agree he is past mature. He has a floppy left ear that makes it hard to get an exact ear tip measurement. I am no pro at gauging width, but have heard that juvenile bucks ear tips will be in the 13 range, and a older mature buck will be closer to 15in at ear tips. Again I don't know or I wouldn't be asking. Him being over the hill and at or a tad beyond ear width makes us think he may be legal.

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:27 AM

Man I don't know, that first pic, says no to me, too close, for me to pull the trigger. But good luck on which way you choose. up

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:41 AM

I am going to consult with our local GW. I know I have heard in the past that GW's typically don't give the green light to deer like this just to keep others from thinking it's OK to shoot iffy deer. If he says he thinks it's illegal then we will just let him be coyote bait in a year or so. Thanks for the replies fellas and good luck this season
Posted By: dogcatcher

Re: Age this fat boy, and is he legal? - 10/02/15 03:55 AM

I would say he looks legal, but then I won't be paying the fine.
Posted By: SapperTitan