Texas Hunting Forum

Temporarily Disabled

Posted By: papa45

Temporarily Disabled - 10/25/15 03:25 PM

I don't mean to offend anyone by posting in this section, but I need some ideas. By the way, I am a 70-year-old Purple Heart veteran, but my wounds have long-since healed and I have no significant permanent impairments. I have recently torn my rotator cuff in two places and displaced my bicep tendon, leaving my arm very weak and in some pain. I tore the bicep tendon in the other arm a few years ago and it was not repaired. I plan to get a little deer hunting in before my surgery, but I don't believe I can field dress and load a deer by myself and am worried about doing further damage to the injured shoulder. I hunt by myself and I have tried to line up some friends and locals to call if I need help, but I can't expect them to be sitting by the phone waiting for my call, then drop what they're doing to drive out to help me. Any suggestions?
Posted By: upsslim

Re: Temporarily Disabled - 10/26/15 11:40 AM

Just a couple of ideas. Offer to take someone hunting with you. Someone would love to go hunt and help you. Do you have any grandsons? Take one of them with you.

Re: Temporarily Disabled - 10/26/15 02:31 PM

Thanks, upsslim. My lease doesn't allow guests; maybe I can get an exception to the rules. I do have a couple of grandkids who hunt with me or would like to hunt, but they aren't big enough to do what I need.

I put together a rig with a small block-and-tackle and a ramp to load a deer. I tested it in the driveway yesterday and hurt my shoulder even more. Better give up on that one.
Posted By: Frio County Hunts

Re: Temporarily Disabled - 10/26/15 07:10 PM

They have hand cranks for losing deer I the back of the truck. You set them up in your trailer hitch and use a pulley system to load the animal. I know bass pro carries them and I'm sure you can find someone on here to make them too. Good luck
Posted By: Aggieman775