Texas Hunting Forum

Rant: Newbies & Long Distance

Posted By: chital_shikari

Rant: Newbies & Long Distance - 07/15/16 12:44 AM

I posted this in a FB group I'm a part of. I'm one of the more senior guys (hah!), so even though I'm quite a bit younger they listen to my "expertise" roflmao. Anything I miss? Bear in mind, these people are absolute newbies, so I've watered down the technicalities. And yes, 2" is not that great, but this was without any breaks for the barrel and a combined diameter of 4 different loads/grains at those three different distances. Let me know what you think! Oh and don't bash me too hard for the 60% shooting grin
Quote:
So this has been bothering me for a bit. Mostly from my own hunting club members I hear this that I want to shoot animals from at least 300yd.

I've shot 2 animals at 200yd+ in 9 years of hunting. One was an axis doe with my 22-250 with a Zeiss Conquest 4.5-14x50mm and 55gr Hornady VMAX in 2013, sitting on my rear end and resting on a uprooted treelimb. The second was a pig with my dad's 30-06 with a Nikon Buckmasters 4-12x50mm and 150gr Federal Fusion. The axis doe took 1 shot and a difficult tracking job: the super-flat shooting 22-250 did a ton of internal bleeding but left us nothing to follow with a chest shot. My 22-250 has shot 45, 55, and 64gr bullets within a 2" margin at 50, 100, and 200yd; that's why this was possible. The pig had blood everywhere, but took my 5 shots to drop: 3/5 connected. I was shooting standing, using a BOGPOD tripod as a rest.