Texas Hunting Forum

Dry firing

Posted By: Sq2 hunter

Dry firing - 12/25/15 03:58 AM

What's yalls opnion on dry firing a remington 700? Is it okay and/or should I put a spent resized brass with old primer in the chamber? Just trying to get used to slowly squeezing..
Posted By: Jbell99

Re: Dry firing - 12/25/15 04:06 AM

Personally I'm very perticular and try not to I was raised as not to dry fire. They do sell snap caps so you can do it and not have to worry and great for practicing
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Dry firing - 12/25/15 04:07 AM

Dry firing practice is essential to improved trigger squeeze, in any position. I recommend doing it all the time, and I do it on every rifle three times before shooting a live round on the range.

I never use a snap cap or fired case. Dry firing won't hurt the bolt and firing pin. I store all rifles dry fired to relieve spring compression.
Posted By: 68A

Re: Dry firing - 12/25/15 04:18 AM

I was raised being told to never dry fire. I started shooting with an idpa champ a few years back and he asked if he could shoot my pistol, I gladly obliged. First think he did was rack the slide and dry fire it 3 times, he could tell by the look on my face I was a little peeved. He gave me the rundown and ever since then I will always dry fire before shooting. As Jason said, it's excellent practice and will not hurt anything.
Posted By: BigPig

Re: Dry firing - 12/25/15 04:20 AM

Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Dry firing practice is essential to improved trigger squeeze, in any position. I recommend doing it all the time, and I do it on every rifle three times before shooting a live round on the range.

I never use a snap cap or fired case. Dry firing won't hurt the bolt and firing pin. I store all rifles dry fired to relieve spring compression.

Yup^^^ I like to load a spent round or snap cap into the magazine for practice, lets you watch your follow through to see if you're screwing it up
Posted By: Texas Dan