Texas Hunting Forum

DirecTV at Camp

Posted By: TXW

DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:19 PM

I've got DirecTV at the house with a main receiver and a couple of satellite boxes for each of the other TVs. Is it possible to use one of these satellite boxes at camp with an old DirecTV satellite? This is my first time doing this so looking for a little help.
Posted By: TexFlip

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:22 PM

Yes. That's what we do in Junction. All your local chanels will be the same as your house though. Not that that's necessarily a bad thing.
Posted By: TooLow

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:28 PM

Yep I took an receiver and old dish and got it hooked up out at the ranch and it works like a champ.
Posted By: Western

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:32 PM

I knew several guys that brought there boxes to the lease in Sterling to watch football.

If you had DISH, they have an antennae (the tailgater) and you can either buy another control box, for cost of the box plus $7 a month for 367/24/7, or pay as you go, or take the house box.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:38 PM

I was going to try this same thing at our new lease. I have DirectTV at the cabin and was going to cancel this coming fall 'cause the basic stuff, at 64.00(!)a month, absolutely sucks! (Although those two women constantly selling sex toys always look so perky and professional. grin)

'Guess I'll take it out there on a feed run and see what the other guys think.

Having free TV as a kid, even if it was only 3 channels and one grainy UHF Spanish channel really spoiled me. (I forgot PBS - 4 channels)
Posted By: KG68

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:42 PM

TV at deer camp? wtf
Posted By: Cast

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:44 PM

You guys don't hunt hard enough of you got time to watch TV. No TV in our camp, by choice.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: DirecTV at Camp - 08/06/15 04:50 PM