Texas Hunting Forum

newbie here

Posted By: CRader

newbie here - 12/23/14 01:55 AM

Hey guys I'm pretty new to Texas and new to hunting. Can anyone recommend any kinda all purpose rifle? I'm mainly interested in hunting deer and hogs at least at first. Also any kind of gear in general I'll need. I'm also looking for so excited groups or people to kinda take me under their wing, teach me the ropes kinda thing, seeing as I really don't know anyone here.. thanks in advance
Posted By: 300j

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 03:01 AM

welcome
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 03:05 AM

welcome
Posted By: billyhunt

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 03:15 AM

welcomeWhere you come from, if may ask?

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 05:28 AM

Well don't hold it against me lol but originally from Los Angeles
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 06:12 AM

welcome ta THF, for deer & hogs, .243 great rifle. Merry Christmas ta all their flag
Posted By: dogcatcher

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 06:38 AM

welcome
Posted By: txshntr

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 06:47 AM

Ah geez, we have been infiltrated by a Californian...I am out bolt

Grab a chair and get some mud boots because the bs gets deep. A lot of good folks and a lot of good information here. welcome

Gun: get one that you can shoot well. .243 will get the job done, but if I only had one (if the government ask, I only have a pellet gun), I would go with a .270 or 30-06. Both very versatile and you can hunt pretty much any animal in Texas with one.

As far as gear, get what you want. Part of the fun is realize that you can do without 99% of it. Texas hunting varies, so get a T-shirt, some thermals and a jacket.

Stick around bud, you can probably find a few folks that can help you along. Advice is free, but worth what you paid.

Might consider a few guided hunts to get your feet wet too cheers
Posted By: Gusval

Re: newbie here - 12/23/14 07:43 AM