Texas Hunting Forum

Feeder timing

Posted By: Jimbo1

Feeder timing - 10/19/13 12:51 PM

What do you all do about resetting the feeder timing with daylight savings ending on Sunday morning of opening weekend?
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 01:16 PM

timer on my feeder doesn't tell time, it keeps it flag
Posted By: Western

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 01:34 PM

I leave mine alone and just "run with it". I will adjust the feed time to correlate better with the light sometimes.
Posted By: 30378

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 01:41 PM

I feed year round. My clocks stay on standard time and I adjust feeding times as needed as the length of the days change. Me, the timer and the deer want the feedings more in line with the time of the year and the length of the days and could not care less about a specific time of day.
Posted By: XBowHunter

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 02:06 PM

this is my first year with a feeder and i have it set for 9AM right now. when we do go back on standard time, it will be going off about day break.

but i don't what the hell i am doing, still learning.

do look forward to others opinions. wink
Posted By: skeeter22

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 02:48 PM

Originally Posted By: 30378
I feed year round. My clocks stay on standard time and I adjust feeding times as needed as the length of the days change. Me, the timer and the deer want the feedings more in line with the time of the year and the length of the days and could not care less about a specific time of day.

^^^^^^This
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Feeder timing - 10/19/13 02:58 PM

I feed about 15 minutes after daylight in the mornings and then around 15 minutes before sundown in the afternoons. I will sometimes feed another setting in the mornings and afternoons some years.
Most of the time now I rely on my roadfeeder for feeding deer when I am hunting or on a daily basis just to feed them. Best way to put deer in front of you I have found.
Posted By: Seadog