Texas Hunting Forum

College Kid/First Time Dog Trainer Seeking any advice to help

Posted By: Aggie 18

College Kid/First Time Dog Trainer Seeking any advice to help - 11/24/15 03:48 PM

Hi,
I am a Sophomore at Texas A&M planning on getting a female black lab puppy. I really want to train her the right way and am seeking any advice or tools that could help me. I have read everything online and watched every video possible but really want more. I have researched some of the training program dvds/books and they are out of a college kids budget. If anyone has any training material lying around they aren't using i'd really appreciate the opportunity to borrow them. I will return in a timely manner and reimburse for shipping.

Thanks
Posted By: hunting_guy

Re: College Kid/First Time Dog Trainer Seeking any advice to help - 11/24/15 04:21 PM

Hi Aggie!

I purchased my second pup last July and have been training him myself since that point.

Just make sure before you even get your dog that you research his parents, make sure they have some good hunting certs in front of their names and that their parents hunt, and they have all clearances. You can research titles and bloodlines online fairly easily. Review some tips on picking a puppy before you go as well.

When you first get your pup (should be around 7 weeks old):

Some items I use all the time- (choke collar or short choke leash, standard collar (make sure to have name and contact info on the collar at all times), heeling stick, 4 foot leash, 10 foot leash, 50' check cord, lots of bumpers (try to find smaller cloth ones for the first few months), whistle, and one or two 2'X2' slightly raised platforms for place command) Most of this stuff you can make yourself if you are on a budget. An e-collar is a very helpful tool if you can afford one, they are expensive but can REALLY help with most of the training you will do.