Texas Hunting Forum

Fiberglass or Metal Blind

Posted By: Sick Train

Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/06/16 10:21 PM

Shopping for a couple of new blinds and want something that will last for a very long time. Looking for a 5x5 or a little larger. I have no experience with fiberglass or metal blinds so what would you fellas recommend? Any pros and cons to fiberglass vs all metal? Not looking to build them anymore.
Posted By: TexasKC

Re: Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/06/16 10:45 PM

I've had both and I don't there's much difference. I hunt out of a 5x7 T-Box fiberglass blind nowadays.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/06/16 10:56 PM

There should be some folks that know how to work fiberglass well in Corpus. I'd try to find something local, in case you have any issues.

Believe it or not, if you take care of them and put in the solid inserts off-season, the plastic blinds made in San Antonio last a very, very long time. (PVF - the black plastic, now brown if you want, etc.) I have a couple. I still think they're the best value for the money. My main blind is a 4X6 fiberglass from Thurman's. They (she) used to post on here, but don't know if they're still around. (Palestine.)
Posted By: Dalee7892

Re: Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/06/16 11:59 PM

I just received a catalog from Natchez, has a plastic snap together blind 4x6x6.5 for $600 plus window kit $190. Might google it and read the specs, seems to be a good price. About $200 for material to build out of plywood plus paint plus Windows plus roof material plus labor plus tools that you don't have. Get the picture.

Re: Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/07/16 01:57 AM

Originally Posted By: TexasKC
I've had both and I don't there's much difference. I hunt out of a 5x7 T-Box fiberglass blind nowadays.

How long have you had the T-Box blind?
Posted By: Dien

Re: Fiberglass or Metal Blind - 09/07/16 02:59 AM