Texas Hunting Forum

Load development for 308 Howa with 24" barrel

Posted By: Olshovel

Load development for 308 Howa with 24" barrel - 03/19/18 01:17 PM

I will start by saying I am new to reloading. I have been doing a lot of reading, on this forum and on many sites with articles about developing loads for a rifle on the internet. The most interesting thing I have read was a thesis paper titled "Optimal barrel time concept" written by the guy that developed some program for reloading called Quickload. Is anybody here familiar with this program and does it work? I have been reading about nodes and the methods used to determine where those are as you develop loads. Based on the optimal barrel time paper, the COAL had more effect in moving a round towards the nodes than powder charge. Is this consistent with the practical experience that is represented by all of you long term reloaded here? I am about to load up my first round and I'm curious if I need to focus on powder charge first or play with seating depth first?
Posted By: Korean Redneck

Re: Load development for 308 Howa with 24" barrel - 03/19/18 01:41 PM

As fellow newbie, here's my take on your starting point and questions:

As far as finding the best node is concerned, it seems that most do a variation on something referred to as the ladder test. Full disclosure, the follow is my process from a bunch of info fireman sent me.
1. Load 2 of each weight charge of powder in 0.3gr increments. I ended up doing about 8 sets.
2. I seated them all the same depth to start out with, which was about 0.010" behind the lands.
3. Get colored Sharpe markers and paint the who bullet exposed different color for each load. Tip, my sharpie pack was arranged in the color spectrum order. I paint the tips in that order for charges too.
4. I have a 600 yard range available so I shot mine at 300 yard. One of each load at the same target. Hopefully u shot those well.