Texas Hunting Forum

6.8 ammo

Posted By: Bigfoot

6.8 ammo - 03/20/17 01:05 AM

I thought I heard that the Hornady SST's are going to be discontinued. Is that true?

There was no blood whatsoever out of the deer I shot this year at 70 ish yards from the SST. Small deer so it didnt run 10 yards but if I had to track her it would have been impossible.

So I am thinking maybe I need to try a Barnes bullet next year. I am also thinking I would like a deer specific bullet and a hog specific bullet. Maybe 95 Gr TTSX for hogs and 110Gr Barnes TSX for deer?

Factory loads no handloading for me.

what say the experts on this matter
Posted By: Night Hunting TV

Re: 6.8 ammo - 03/20/17 09:11 PM

I'm no expert, but I dont think they will discontinue that bullet. A lot of people use those. I rarely find them in stock locally. Not like they are sitting on shelves.
Posted By: Saddle Tramp

Re: 6.8 ammo - 03/21/17 12:47 AM

I have had penetration issues when shooting at the vitals on pigs with SSTs. My rifle loves them though and I've taken the last 2 with head shots. The latest one at 90 yards, late Saturday night, under a green light.

I've used the Barnes 95 gr TTSX. It also didn't leave the body but scrambled the insides quite well. Still ran 25 yds into the brush before it's ultimate demise.

Re: 6.8 ammo - 03/21/17 02:57 AM

Should I be trying something like an Accubond for deer? Or just stick with the SST's if they are still around
Posted By: QuitShootinYoungBucks

Re: 6.8 ammo - 03/21/17 03:13 AM

I've had really good results with the Federal Fusion 115 gr.
Posted By: bigjoe8565

Re: 6.8 ammo - 03/21/17 10:59 PM

I use the 6.8 SST with excellent results. All three of the deer killed off my tags were killed with this bullet. Not a single one of them took more than two steps with vital shots. My deer took one step backwards, stood there pouring blood from the exit wound and fell over dead as a door nail.

I doubt Hornady will discontinue this round.
Posted By: javman