Texas Hunting Forum

77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs?

Posted By: tenyearsgone

77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 02:32 PM

What are you using? Both are very accurate out of my AR-15 but I'm not sure if I want speed or size. Looking forward to getting my first kills with this rifle I've had for a few years now after playing around with the 6.8.
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 02:55 PM

I'd go 55 SP. The bthp can fragment very easy and limit penetration. The 55 SP is nasty on soft tissue.
Posted By: Mickey Moose

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 05:42 PM

I have no experience with anything but the 55 grain SP since it has worked well for me.
Posted By: BWH_65

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 06:43 PM

I have put down quite a few hogs over the past year with a 55gr SP out of my AR. They have worked good for me but can't compare to the 77gr BTHP because I have not tried those
Posted By: IHateFeralPigs

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 07:20 PM

i use 75 gr Hornady BTHP thru my Sig 556 almost exclusively and have been very satisfied with them. Shot distances have been 6 feet to 250 yards. This rifle is accurate with them and this bullet is available locally. However, if a 55 gr soft point is also accurate thru your rifle then maybe that's what you need to use. I know it would be one of my favorites on feral hogs.
Posted By: Gravytrain

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 08:53 PM

I used Horanady 55gr SP training ammo. Worked great, but I used upper neck shots.
I'm not sure what it would do broadside.
Posted By: 603Country

Re: 77 grain BTHP or 55 grain softpoint for hogs? - 03/29/15 10:57 PM