Texas Hunting Forum

Howa rifles????- I want to hear the good,bad&ugly

Posted By: deewayne2003

Howa rifles????- I want to hear the good,bad&ugly - 09/01/09 11:38 PM

A buddy of mine is thinking about buying a Howa for his first rifle and I have no experience with them,hes saying they claim a sub MOA gaurentee but ive never heard of it.

What do you guys who have used/seen them in the field think?

Posted By: TexasTransplant

Re: Howa rifles????- I want to hear the good,bad&ugly - 09/02/09 12:03 AM

Howa makes Weatherby vanguards but writes "Weatherby" instead of "Howa" on them. I almost got one but went with a savage instead due to the accutrigger (and accustock if you select the right model).

The barrels are not button rifled, which may or may not make a dif to you.

The Howas are supposed to be good shooters. By reputation, you will want to replace the out-of-the-box trigger which can be done for under $100 bucks if you DIY.

Posted By: Brother in-law

Re: Howa rifles????- I want to hear the good,bad&ugly - 09/02/09 12:20 AM

ugly for sure

Posted By: WileyCoyote

Re: Howa rifles????- I want to hear the good,bad&ugly - 09/02/09 12:28 AM

Wby Vanguard IMO is the best $400 rifle on the market. Potential upgrades as always in this price range will be free float/glass bed & trigger tuning jobs unless you buy a Tikka that starts around $600. I alos like the 24" barrls on all calibers for max velocity in non magnum calibers. Howa uses a SAKO style modified claw extractor which allows for a complete enclosed or recessed bolt face, adds 3 gas exhaust ports on the side of the bolt for added safety, intead of venting blowback gas thru the magazine well in case of a ruptured case/primer aka "blowup". Wby markets a MOA model that has been ID'd at the factory test firing session for $$$'s more but I'd not spend the Xtra Bux me myself and use the Bux on 'smith work in tuning or a scope upgrade.