Texas Hunting Forum

When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel?

Posted By: Texas Dan

When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 01:51 AM

A quick and easy question for the experts.

When should a brush be used to clean a gun barrel? More specifically, should it be part of a periodic cleaning regime or only when needed to remove stubborn residue from a neglected barrel?

Thanks in advance.
Posted By: D6Ranch

Re: When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 04:23 AM

Personally, I only do it once I see accuracy start to degrade or when season is over for my hunting rifles that sit in the safe most of the year.

I'm no expert though. That's just the SOP I've adopted over the past ten years and it works for me.
Posted By: J.G.

Re: When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 02:25 PM

Never a brush.

Solvent, soak for 10-15 minutes, patches until they are no longer dirty. Could take 8 passes, could take 20.
Posted By: Choctaw

Re: When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 02:33 PM

Originally Posted By: FiremanJG
Never a brush.

Solvent, soak for 10-15 minutes, patches until they are no longer dirty. Could take 8 passes, could take 20.

Agreed. I try to use the least abrasive means possible when I feel the need (which isn't often) to clean the bore.
Posted By: patriot07

Re: When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 02:34 PM

Interesting. I run a patch totally soaked in solvent. Let it soak for about 5 minutes, and then one pass with a brush, and then patches til dry and they're not picking up anything. I then repeat that a 2nd time. You'd be shocked how much black stuff is left in there after my first run.

If I don't use a brush, I would never get all the black stuff out. I've tried it. Maybe I'm not letting the solvent soak long enough.
Posted By: Texas Dan

Re: When to use a brush to clean a gun barrel? - 12/04/17 03:14 PM