Texas Hunting Forum

Should I have bought it?

Posted By: Matt Hejl

Should I have bought it? - 09/06/16 01:24 AM

Ok I am in the hunt for my first long range rifle. I dont currently deer hunt, so no lease or land. Although I am a teacher and a coach so I know alot of folks where I could prob end up going if I wanted to. Anyways, I am in the marked for my first rifle...I like to shoot and have shot before but dont own a rifle. I wanted to get something for range shooting and if the situation arose, the be able to shoot my own gun if I go and deer hunt.

I was at Walmart today and they had a Savage Axis II (one with accutrigger) Scope combo on clearance for4 $199.

This setup goes typically at minimum $350...Usually around $400 and most people say this is a great value for money.

The problem is, the one on clearance is a .223 Thats a bit small for deer, but the price of the gun was awesome. I almost just got it anyway, but didnt.

What do you guys think? It definitely would have filled the "range shooting" check for me.
Posted By: RiverRider

Re: Should I have bought it? - 09/06/16 01:29 AM

That might have been an excellent rifle just to learn the ins and outs of shooting with. That's super cheap. You could shoot that for a little while (and sell it if you decide not to keep it) then move on to something more suitable for general hunting.
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Should I have bought it? - 09/06/16 01:55 AM

Originally Posted By: RiverRider
That might have been an excellent rifle just to learn the ins and outs of shooting with. That's super cheap. You could shoot that for a little while (and sell it if you decide not to keep it) then move on to something more suitable for general hunting.

Agreed.

They're sloppy cycling, and don't have a good trigger, but it can get you started. They can shoot fairly decent with quality ammo, and a bolt action .223 has tiny recoil.