Texas Hunting Forum

Future Build

Posted By: thedoveshooter

Future Build - 03/24/16 02:06 AM

Probably not what most of ya'll were expecting. I appreciate the modern designs, but I'm a traditionalist.

Barrel:
I found a really nice small ring Mauser barrel on gunbroker. New, in the white. .30-06 SPRG 26" with 1-10" twist. Going to cut and recrown it to 24" I know its of European origin, most likely Belgian....maybe even FN.

Stock:
Family friend gave me a blank his father had; he was a self taught gunsmith. Pretty sure it is Myrtle. Nice and lightweight, but really dense. Also, LOVE the tiger striping.

Action:
Going to try to find a Mauser 98 small ring (yes, they do exist) or I may use a Turk. We'll see.

- Austin
Posted By: BassCat'99

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 02:15 AM

Major endeavor, best of luck and don't forget to post progress.
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 02:28 AM

Gonna be a beauty. up
Posted By: tth_40

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 03:22 AM

Oh boy, I see great things coming!! grin cheers

Not a thing wrong with a Turk, lots of them out there.
Posted By: durda1

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 05:41 AM

Interested in fn mauser?

Posted By: BassCat'99

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 11:23 AM

What type finish are you considering for the stock, oil or stain?
Posted By: Korean Redneck

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 01:22 PM

yes looks like it's gonna be an awesome project, please keep us posts on the progress. I too recently have an urge to build a rifle and do some of the work myself. I'd love to get some pointers as this is all new to me.

Re: Future Build - 03/24/16 10:41 PM

Originally Posted By: BassCat'99
What type finish are you considering for the stock, oil or stain?

Stain would be a sin on that wood! Oil finish only. Probably just use 8-10 coats of boiled lint seed oil.

Re: Future Build - 07/21/16 02:21 AM

UPDATE: