Texas Hunting Forum

Kids first rilfe

Posted By: chad miller

Kids first rilfe - 12/21/15 04:24 PM

Need some help, folks. I'm not a newbie to guns, but it's been 29 years since I shot my first rifle and SO much has changed over the years.

I'm stuck trying to find out which way I should run for my 2 boys (currently 7 and 5). If bought, the guns would be 8th bday presents, so keep that in mind for the younger one. I cant decide between a .243, suppressing a 7mm-08, .300 blackout (suppressed), or just going with a .308 (suppressed as well).

I'm either going to buy them a gun now to get them by until their teens and then something else later in life, or by 1 gun that they can keep and shoot forever. I know the .243 has taken many animals, but the whole suppressor craze has my attention just by saving their eardrums alone, not to mention recoil reduction. Through the years, I always shot with ear protection at the range, but never in the blind/tripod. 1 shot, open area, .270..big deal. But the truth is, every shot without hearing protection damages the ears, especially when you're shooting a .300 RUM with a brake....so, for that reason alone, I'm leaning towards the suppressor. But can a kid handle light load .308's?
Posted By: syncerus

Re: Kids first rilfe - 12/21/15 04:41 PM

The brake + suppressor combo is greatness. I'd go with .308, myself. There will be no meaningful recoil.
Posted By: Tim9880

Re: Kids first rilfe - 12/21/15 05:16 PM

Do you already have a .308 suppressor? If so, any of those mentioned rounds can be fired thru it and recoil greatly tamed. The one big advantage of going .300 or .308 in an ar platform is how the collapsible stock "grows" with a kid.
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Kids first rilfe - 12/21/15 05:26 PM