Texas Hunting Forum

Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP!

Posted By: Buzzsaw

Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP! - 09/12/15 07:37 PM

Only the second time out. The gun is SWEET, shoots very soft and accurate, great trigger... BUT when I'm shooting just regular 90gr FMJ, it doesn't like to lock completely into battery. I'm not an expert gunsmith but it seems like the extractor is not locking over rim when the action closes. I have to "nudge" the slide forward till it "clicks" onto the rim. I have about 150 rounds through it, I'm going to get more rounds through it before I send it back....and I will be pissed because this is a HIGH DOLLAR pocket gun and besides the cost it need to work, all the time !!!! The warmer JHP loads seem to function allot better....

Seems to be a constant problem with many of the micro guns. Stay tuned.....

What's it sound like is wrong to ya'll
Posted By: blackcoal

Re: Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP! - 09/12/15 07:50 PM

Needs some more rounds put through it. Sad the manufacturers can't make a machine to run the action 100, 500, 1000 times before sending the product out, but back in the 70's they discovered a "tight" gun sold better. SO now you pay more for a tight gun and then pay for another 100-500 rounds of ammo plus your time to run the ammo through. JMO
Posted By: Capt Craig

Re: Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP! - 09/12/15 09:10 PM

More rounds and make sure the gun is wet with something like CLP. It needs it to self-polish and break-in.
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP! - 09/12/15 10:28 PM

Yes, put more rounds down it, and get a lubricant on the area you think it's sticking. The fmj rounds could be a light load, and the gun be set up for the higher pressure stuff.
Posted By: charlesb

Re: Kimber Micro Carry CDP.380 CRAP! - 09/12/15 10:59 PM

I have a suggestion.