Print Thread
Sometimes it IS the gun.... #6451615 09/14/16 02:21 PM
T
TiggerV Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
T
Sorry for the late post, but I HAVE to get this out. We went out Dove hunting opening weekend. Birds were slow but steady for us.

I got a new shotgun, Stevens 555 in 20.

Result? My first limit......and my first double.

I know that's not impressive for most in here, but for me, who picks up his bird gun once a year.....I am DAMN proud of it.

Re: Sometimes it IS the gun.... [Re: TiggerV] #6451619 09/14/16 02:23 PM
Streater Offline
Tracker
Tracker
I can't miss with my 20. It's amazing how much better you shoot with a proper fitting shotgun

Re: Sometimes it IS the gun.... [Re: TiggerV] #6452081 09/14/16 07:43 PM
G
GoBears870 Offline
Woodsman
Woodsman
G
It's all about fit, and it's different for everyone. I picked up an old Remington 1100 LT-20 a couple years ago and have never shot better with anything before or since. I'm just an amateur shooter - a good skeet round was 17 or 18 - but I can knock out 22-23 every time and keep up that percentage in the dove field as well. I didn't realize how a gun could point naturally for you until I started running this one.

Re: Sometimes it IS the gun.... [Re: TiggerV] #6454249 09/16/16 02:23 AM
F
Fishuhalik Offline
Bird Dog
Bird Dog
F
That's why it's so hard to answer the ol' "which gun is better for me" question. I shot an 870 for years and my buds would always rag on me for being the worst shot out of all of us. Shelled out the money for a beretta and my hit percentage went through the roof. Now it's nothing to knock doubles with the occasional triple.

Cigarettes are like hamsters. Perfectly harmless til you put it in your mouth & light it on fire
Re: Sometimes it IS the gun.... [Re: TiggerV] #6454268 09/16/16 02:35 AM
T
TXHOGSLAYER Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
T
I am still searching for "that" gun. grin

LETS GO BRANDON