Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics538,050
Posts9,732,357
Members87,055
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Ask for help with small game / rabbit hunting in Austin area #5830524 07/13/15 10:01 PM
O
Obrien Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
O
Hello everyone,

I'm totally new in hunting as I recently moved to Texas and I would like to ask for the advice.

As someone who is about to start hunting I figured that the best would be start with small game (probably rabbits) to get the feeling for the country and learn.

Can you recommend me some areas where to go within reasonable distance from Austin? My goal is to get ready for the main season and learn as much as I can.

I'd prefer to start in public land but if you know about good private range where I can start for reasonable price I'd be thankful for any advice.

Thanks a lot!

Jan

Re: Ask for help with small game / rabbit hunting in Austin area [Re: Obrien] #5831321 07/14/15 02:03 PM
Sniper John Online Happy
gumshoe
Online Happy
gumshoe
WMAs Granger and Somerville have rabbits. The population is probably on an up cycle with all the vegetation growth from the rains providing lots of food and predator protection. That may also make it difficult to hunt them.

Re: Ask for help with small game / rabbit hunting in Austin area [Re: Obrien] #5831365 07/14/15 02:34 PM
1860.colt Offline
emoji colt.45
emoji colt.45