Page 1 of 2 1 2
Night vision vs. thermal #5928460 09/14/15 09:50 PM
D
drilla4rilla Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
D
Missed a big porker this weekend in my feeder because I tried for a head shot but couldn't hardly see it. It was pretty dark..dark enough to where I wouldn't even consider trying to shoot a deer. I should've gone for a body shot and likely would've gotten him, but I tried for the all-pro shot in the ear because my wife was with me and I wanted to show off. Lesson learned...I walked away with my tail tucked wishing I would've just shot it in the body. Got me thinking though...we have a ton of hogs but they are normally spotted after dark on the cams. My next purchase will be some type of night vision/thermal scope so I can hunt at night. My question to you all is....what do you prefer, night vision or thermal. Pros? Cons? Particular suggestions? My budget is about $2000. I have zero experience with either so I honestly don't know where to start. Thanks in advance.

Re: Night vision vs. thermal [Re: drilla4rilla] #5928621 09/14/15 11:35 PM
dfwroadkill Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
Thermal, but that budget won't get you thermal. You need about 3 grand on the low end. IMO, thermal is the only way to go if you can swing it. No comparison.

Re: Night vision vs. thermal [Re: dfwroadkill] #5928632 09/14/15 11:45 PM
M
mustanger Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman
M
Thermal is first choice for me too. You might have a little difficulty with positive identification at first, but you'll see more critters than you ever could with a gen 3 night vision setup. The price is higher, but it's worth every bit of it. Wait and save till you've got the money for thermal and you won't be disappointed. You can get a good start with an Apex XD50 thermal sight for around 3k. Thermal prices seem to be slowly coming down so time would be on your side if you were saving for it.

Re: Night vision vs. thermal [Re: drilla4rilla] #5929398 09/15/15 02:12 PM
C